Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree11Likes
    CrackBerry User

Global Posts
    60 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Considering a Playbook

I am looking purchasing a Blackberry Playbook around next weekend, but I wanted to ask a few questions about it first. I've never used a Blackberry device before, and own an Android phone. The largest thing that is concerning me right now (and may not be able to be answered) is I see that a large number of retailers do not carry it or have very limited stock. When I went to Best Buy yesterday to check it out and they had a demo unit, but no units to sell. Could this be because of low demand for the Playbook or the possibility of a revision soon coming out? I looked for a Playbook a month ago, but did not purchase and I didn't see a shortage like I am right now. Also, Best Buy has the Playbook listed at $499 again (16GB) and I see one or two other retailers that say the sale is ending today on the Playbook. While I do really like the Playbook, if it goes back up to $499 I cannot purchase it. Currently though it seems that the official Blackberry online store has it at $199 with no indication that it may increase in price so hopefully that will still be there by next weekend.

How does the browser on the Playbook stack up against a regular desktop browser? I've seen it supports flash and HTML5, but are there any known issues or incompatibilities with the browser?

Can you set the keyboard to vibrate on key press or provide some sort of feedback? (Best Buy demo unit I tried wouldn't let me into the settings)

Does the Playbook provide any sort of password security when you attempt to use it? (demo unit I could just tap the screen with the screen off to get back into it)

Are there any major or minor hardware/software problems that are common?
    CrackBerry Abuser

Global Posts