Not being an engineer, I don't even know if this is possible, but could the micro USB port be used as a means of connecting other USB devices to the Playbook? For example, I would love to be able to connect my camera or a small card reader to the Playbook so I could dump photos directly on to it when traveling without using my netbook as the intermediary. I was at a conference last week and received the conference materials on a USB stick but had to wait until I got back to my room to transfer the documents over using my netbook and wifi through a Connectify hotspot.

i realize that some sort of adapter would have to be developed and some drivers written for the Playbook but this seems like such an obviously useful feature that is missing from the Playbook (and a number of other tablets). i'm guessing there is some limitation inherent to the micro USB port, such as lack of a power source, that prevents this from happening?
    11-27-11 12:00 PM
    That limitation exists on most Micro USB ports. Howver, if you look closely at the PlayBook's it's regtangular rather than the trapezoid Micro USB ports normally are. That's because it's a Micro AB port, designed specifically to support USB OTG, which let's a USB port operate in dual mode, both device and host. Currently the limitation on doing this is the PlayBook OS's lack of support. However mine and others' work analyzing the OS 2.0 beta makes it quite clear that RIM is working on adding support. So, you should be able to do this soon.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    11-27-11 12:26 PM
    Thanks, Taylortbb. That is great info. i do hope RIM implements this option as I can see it making the PB all that much more usable and advantageous over other tablets. Cheers!
    11-27-11 01:02 PM
    12-03-11 11:54 AM
    Evidently there's a way to do it as this video is showing a PB acting as a host for an Arduino USB board... http://forums.crackberry.com/blackbe...-board-675105/
    Wolf