07-01-11 01:03 AM
    i bought the leather version and im using it right now but i went ahead and order this one.
    07-01-11 01:07 AM
    At that price I ordered one even though I've got the leather version. Thanks for the heads up!
    07-01-11 02:44 AM
    I have wanted the Icon carbon fiber case but it is not available in the US. When I saw this post I checked out the one on Amazon. I think you may be disappointed when you receive it. The description says "Featuring a hard ABS body and carbon fiber design". I am a retired plastics chemist and I interpret that to mean that it is a plastic case that has been molded to look like carbon fiber. Which is NOT at all the same as carbon fiber. Good luck.
    07-01-11 10:27 AM
    I have wanted the Icon carbon fiber case but it is not available in the US. When I saw this post I checked out the one on Amazon. I think you may be disappointed when you receive it. The description says "Featuring a hard ABS body and carbon fiber design". I am a retired plastics chemist and I interpret that to mean that it is a plastic case that has been molded to look like carbon fiber. Which is NOT at all the same as carbon fiber. Good luck.
    Hackerguy since your a chemist is it true that carbon fiber blocks radio signals and that's why it's not used in phones?

Guess it would make more sense to ask this question if you had said you were an electrical engineer, but I thought you might have some insight.
    07-01-11 10:30 AM
    Carbon fiber does conduct electricity so it probably would block rf signals but I don't know that for sure.
    07-01-11 10:43 AM
    Did a little research and carbon fiber does block rf signals. Maybe someone who is using the Icon carbon fiber case could comment on how it affects signal strength.
    07-01-11 11:06 AM
    i dont think they are using a real carbon fiber.i think its the design that look like a carbon fiber maybe plastic that looks like carbon fiber
    07-01-11 11:48 AM