It's been two weeks with my Pearl and I'm still learning...

To compose a new E-mail or Text Message (default):
    1) Scroll the icons
    2) Select the Address Book icon
    3) Scroll down the list and highlight the person
    4) Click the Menu button
    5) Scroll down the Menu options
    6) Select Email... or SMS...

*** MY SHORTCUT ***
    First, re-assign the left (or right) shortcut button to "Compose" (You can do that under Options | Screen/Keyboard).

To compose a new E-mail or Text Message (with my shortcut):
    1) Press the shortcut button
    2) Scroll down the list and highlight the person
    3) Press the trackball

NOTE: I found that the Pearl remembers the last action you did for each person -- It keeps track which one you did last time (E-mail, SMS, or Call). When you hit the trackball, it will automatically initiate the last action (E-mail, SMS, or Call) for that person. So beware that if the last time you called the person, it will start dialing when you hit the trackball!

I have found this shortcut to be very useful since I like to text a lot. It is half the steps and saves a lot of time. I also started creating Groups in my Address Book so I can automatically send text messages to multiple people at once! I use my shortcut to SMS Text my groups!

This phone is great!
    Last edited by Impulss; 12-12-07 at 08:15 PM.
    12-12-07 08:13 PM
    Wow, nice find. We need to make a tips and tricks thread for these cool things.
    12-12-07 09:09 PM
    In most cases typing the first letters of the name you want in the address book will reduce or eliminate the scrolling through the list.
    12-27-07 08:30 PM
    Wow, nice find. We need to make a tips and tricks thread for these cool things.
    There already is a "Tips and Tricks" thread for the 8130. http://forums.crackberry.com/f79/tip...-8130-a-11235/
    12-27-07 08:43 PM
    Thanks for the tips.
    01-27-08 08:05 PM
    It's been two weeks with my Pearl and I'm still learning...