CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default How to transfer contacts from old phone

Hello experts,

I am brand new to BB Pearl 8100. I just got it couple of days and this is my first smart phone. I am struggling to transfer my contacts from old phone via bluetooth connection and have been unsuccessful.

My old phones are Motorola V551 and Sony Ericsson T-637. Here is what I did:

On V551:
    - Go to Settings -> Connection -> Bluetooth Link -> Setup
    - Set power to ON
    - Click on "Find Me", it comes back saying "Discoverable: 60 seconds"

On BB:
    - I go to "Set Up Bluetooth"
    - Go through the device search/pairing options
    - Enter PIN on both phones and get confirmation that it is now paired with V551

On V551:
    - Go to Settings -> Connection -> Bluetooth Link -> Device History
    - BlackBerry 8100 is listed here as one of the device.
    - Go to Address Book
    - Select Send from phone book menu
    - BB 8100 isn't listed here, so click on "Look for Devices"
    - It goes through the device search and comes back saying 0 devices found.

That's it. I am stuck here. I tried sending contacts from Ericsson T-637 but it get stuck at the same point there as well. I know one easy way is to copy contacts from old phone to SIM card and then transfer but that way I loose phone number type (home, office, mobile) information. So hoping it will work via bluetooth.

Any help/comment/pointer will be much appreciated. Or if you have an alternative method of transferring contacts, pl. let me know.

Thanks
    CrackBerry Addict

Global Posts
    596 Global Posts
    PIN
    221F0B14

Not sure if you have tried this or not...Don't have the phone paired with the bb. It sounds like maybe the phone is paired already and can't find any devices b/c it is already paired.

Also I am not sure if you can send contacts between different brands of phones
    Justin
    Everyone is entitled to be stupid, but some abuse the privilege. --Unknown