Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default BIS PIN IMEI problems with unlocked 9105

    Oh the poor beleagured Blackberry, how I love thee

    I've owned several Blackberries and when I needed a new phone, I purchased an unlocked 9105 with OS 5 off ebay. The best all around phone ever created, in my opinion, and my third pearl. I'm on t-mobile. I put in my SIM card, registered the phone and some services work. SMS and phone worked immediately. Email, Wi Fi and all other services did not. I spent several hours troubleshooting and on the phone with t-mobile tech support. They say they can't verify the PIN or IMEI. They said the phone is not reporting itself as a blackberry to the network so the service books are not being forwarded. So I downloaded the latest OS 6, wiped the phone and installed it using BBSAK. WiFi now works. The phone will register but I can't access BIS. It doesn't help that it seems I can't access t-mobile's BIS online. I'm stuck and I don't know what to do.

    How can I verify the PIN and IMEI are valid?

    How can I figure out what network the phone was on before I purchased it?

    How can I access T-mobile's BIS?

    Is there any other way to access the service books?

    If I call RIM and pay for their tech support, is there any chance they can solve the problem?

    Many thanks!
  2. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    6,935 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,671 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #2  

    Default

    Welcome to CrackBerry! T-mo specialist help desk can login to brry and tell you if pin has been registered and on what carrier. Can you see the 4 BB dots next to your wireless?
  3. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zocster View Post
    Welcome to CrackBerry! T-mo specialist help desk can login to brry and tell you if pin has been registered and on what carrier. Can you see the 4 BB dots next to your wireless?
    Thanks! Yeah, they can't get any information on the PIN or IMEI. That's part of the problem. But yes, I do see the four BB dots next to the signal strength.
  4. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    6,935 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,671 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #4  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erock419 View Post
    Thanks! Yeah, they can't get any information on the PIN or IMEI. That's part of the problem. But yes, I do see the four BB dots next to the signal strength.
    Surely if a small country like mine has a specialist yours definitely should!

    Anyway...

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...dnqDZD-g2sMHTA try the link for tmo

    And find host routing table and re register under advance settings

    Sent from whatever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
  5. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zocster View Post
    Surely if a small country like mine has a specialist yours definitely should!

    Anyway...

    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...dnqDZD-g2sMHTA try the link for tmo

    And find host routing table and re register under advance settings

    Sent from whatever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
    Yes, I've spoken with the specialists for hours! That is the strange thing, they input the PIN and IMEI and get nothing.

    I'm also well aware of how to register the phone through the host routing table. I've done it several times. After registering, I get a message confirming the phone is registered, but no BIS.

    Thanks for the link, but it doesn't take me to BIS, it redirects to my.t-mobile.com and there is no access to BIS through that site
  6. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    6,935 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,671 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #6  

    Default

    https://my.t-mobile.com/emailsetting...tToolsOvw.aspx this?

    Sent from whatever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
  7. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zocster View Post
    https://my.t-mobile.com/emailsetting...tToolsOvw.aspx this?

    Sent from whatever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
    Thanks! I think that's where I need to go, but the tmobile specialist says there should be a BIS login on that screen when my PIN and IMEI are recognized by the network. This is all I get right now (see screen capture)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails BIS PIN IMEI problems with unlocked 9105-tmo1.jpg  
  8. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    Update: after another hour on this website, I decided to try t-mobile.blackberry.com and it looks like a BIS portal! That helps. I don't know why the techs at T-mobile didn't say anything about this.

    But then I entered my PIN and IMEI and it says they are invalid. I checked the numbers, tried a couple times, with and without punctuation in the IMEI. No luck.
  9. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #9  

    Default

    Update: since my PIN and IMEI were not recognized by the server, I appealed to the seller to let me do an exhange. First the seller sent me the PIN and IMEI of the replacement, which I cleared with t-mobile. The t-mobile tech confirmed 1) that the first phone was not recognized 2) the second PIN and IMEI were clear and not associated with any other account and 3) that I was on a blackberry "legacy" data plan that should work with this device. Thinking I had finally found my solution, I advised the seller to send me the replacement. Today it arrived and it's still not connecting to BIS.

    I went to t-mobile.blackberry.com and got the same error message that the PIN or IMEI is an invalid format. I've also been to https://my.t-mobile.com/EmailSetting...tToolsOvw.aspx and the screen is the same, no BIS login.

    One thing that remains the same is email setup only offers BES option, on both phones. It doesn't appear that there is an IT Policy on these phones either. The firewall is not enabled. Security Status Information lists no services, but it says security is enabled.

    I'm running OS 6.

    Any ideas? I could really use some expert help here.

    Thanks!
  10. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    ok just spent another hour on the phone. First t-mobile tech wanted to give up. That was very disappointing, after they led me to believe this phone would work on their network. After I demanded a supervisor, I managed to get their technician at RIM on the line. He says the PIN numbers indicate these phones have been locked and/or deactivated. The issue has been elevated to their second teir support and I should hear something back within three days.

    In the meantime, I'm happy to try anything that one of you BB geeks suggest. Please advise. Thanks!
  11. zocster's Avatar

    Posts
    6,935 Posts
    Global Posts
    7,671 Global Posts
    PIN
    2AD743B7
    #11  

    Default

    Sounds like it is one of a kind problem. I have had parallel imported BB and never had any issues, keep us posted.

    Sent from what ever device I got my hands on via Tapatalk
  12. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default

    Oh joy, lucky me!

    what do you mean by "parallel imported BB"?
  13. erock419's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #13  

    Default

    RIM techs did some work on their end so my phone will connect to the network. But they also say my phone's PIN is registered to an Enterprise server and internet services will not work until the PIN is released. Does anyone know how I can find out what Enterprise server is holding my PIN?
  14. AdonayK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    4 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erock419 View Post
    RIM techs did some work on their end so my phone will connect to the network. But they also say my phone's PIN is registered to an Enterprise server and internet services will not work until the PIN is released. Does anyone know how I can find out what Enterprise server is holding my PIN?
    you need to ask that to the seller

Similar Threads

  1. Intermittent Wifi problems
    By aduric in forum BlackBerry Q10
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-13-2014, 08:13 PM
  2. WTB: WTB/LF: Locked to Rogers OR UNLOCKED BLACKBERRY Q10 - READ BELOW
    By Jvaf in forum The Marketplace - Buy, Sell & Trade
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-09-2014, 04:55 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-08-2014, 10:36 AM
  4. In the drivers seat with QNX at CES 2014
    By CrackBerry News in forum CrackBerry.com News Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-07-2014, 11:02 PM
  5. New User - Help with the Battery Door, Please
    By tracygee in forum BlackBerry Z30
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-07-2014, 07:21 PM

Posting Permissions