Hello,

I am hoping that someone here might have some information that I'm having difficulty tracking down. Does anyone know which LTE bands the Passport will operate on? I'm looking for a phone with LTE bands 3 and 4 (1800 and 1700 MHz) and I'm really hoping that the Passport will be capable of this. Any information would be greatly appreciated!
    08-15-14 12:48 PM
    One model of the Passport went through the FCC, and these are the frequencies they documented: LTE 700c/700b/800/850/900/1700/1800/1900/2100/2600

Band numbers are 13, 17, 20, 5, 8, 4, 3, 2, 1, 7
    Last edited by raino; 08-15-14 at 01:13 PM.
    Thrac Dark likes this.
    08-15-14 12:52 PM
    Hi Raino,

Thank you for the very speedy reply. That sounds as though it will cover the required bands. If I were to purchase the Passport directly from Blackberry here in Canada would that most likely be the model that includes both bands/all the ones you have listed? My apologies if this is a dumb question, I am new to smartphones. I know that different US carriers offer phones with different bands but I'm not familiar with how it works when purchased directly from Blackberry.
    Nick Spagnolo likes this.
    08-15-14 01:17 PM
    I didn't see a single dumb question. As a prospective buyer/someone who's interested, you have every right to know.

This model looks to be made for the Americas, but we don't definitively know yet as there's been no announcement. Heck, just going through the FCC doesn't even necessarily mean it's going to be released...

So if this model comes to be released and sold by BB, it would work on any LTE networks that use the bands listed above. And the phones sold by BlackBerry (via its ShopBlackBerry online storefront) are factory unlocked too, so you can put in any SIM and go on your way.
    93Aero likes this.
    08-15-14 01:29 PM