A little background..... I'm a tech lover. I have owned, or tried every phone, tablet, or watch that has come out in the last 5 years. Before that, I go as far back as the Newton Message Pad and Sony Magic Cap days.

Before 6 days ago, I was running an iPhone 6 Plus. Picked the 6 Plus up on launch day in September of 2014. 7 months for one phone for me is a record. So I was pretty happy with the 6 Plus. Better than any previous iPhone, better than Windows Phone, and better than the Note 4.

So a week ago my friend tells me he ran into his relative from Chicago. First thing he tells me is this guy had the new Blackberry Passport, and it was "sweet". I continued to ask questions. The biggest thing I took from the conversation is my friend said "Blackberry is back, you have to try one" So the next day, I'm at AT&T buying one.

I'm a business professional, not a big time gamer, or someone who has 1000 useless apps on my phone. I am a heavy email and text guy. I use about 10 key apps, all of which are available via BB.

A few thoughts after 6 days:

Size: The form factor is unique, and creative. Someone is thinking outside of the box again, and not just making rectangles. The phone is thin, and slides into my pockets every time. I love the wide viewing angle of the screen. It's wonderful for the internet, reading emails, reviewing calendars, etc.. Since I have had the Passport, I find myself browsing with my Passport, not a tablet.

Keyboard: Toughest thing for me to overcome was the physical keys. I hadn't had any physical keys since my BB Bold. When I first tried the keyboard, my first thought was, "this is going back, there is no way I will learn this keyboard". 6 Days in, I am not perfect yet on the keyboard, but I am fast. How about the touch sensitive keyboard. WOW. Impressive, and so useful once you use it for a few days. I also love using the keyboard for searches, and the BB search abilities are the best of any smart phone.