I'm in the process of switching from my trusty Palm TX to a new BB Curve 8320 (and loving it) from T-Mobile, but there are several apps I'll have to find replacements for since there isn't a BB version available. Talking with a software developer from one of these companies, he indicated that writing for the BB platform was much harder then for Windows Mobile 6, which is why the bulk of the companies that had been writing Palm-based applications are switching to the Windows Mobile 6 platform versus BB. He also felt that many developers would write for the yet-to-be-released iPhone API before BB and considered that to the current reason for the relative shortage of BB-based apps.

Is writing software applications for the BB that much harder or are there other issues such as cost, licensing, etc..? Do you think there are enough choices in each category for 3rd-party BB apps?
    01-18-08 03:43 PM
    I'm looking into writing software for my BB. I've been programming for over 20 years and looking for a new challenge. I've only just started researching into this, but I was under the impression that BB uses the Java language. I'm in the process right now of finding some useful AVI's.
    07-23-08 09:08 AM
    I'm looking into writing software for my BB. I've been programming for over 20 years and looking for a new challenge. I've only just started researching into this, but I was under the impression that BB uses the Java language. I'm in the process right now of finding some useful AVI's.
    BB uses a variant of Java for their own API, but the newer Blackberrys especially can easily run standard MIDP (Java ME or J2ME). So anything Java you write for Windows Mobile or Symbian would thearetically also run in BBs. The Voizpod mobile app is 100% Java MIDP/CLDC and it works fine in my Blackberry (as well as Symbian). All the Google apps are also MIDP-based (at least based on the fact they use JAD files).
    07-23-08 10:00 AM