For a while I've been looking for an app that would allow me to block certain service books; namely AT&T's spam. I've just checked and the API has the ServiceBook package described. I've got lots of experience with java, but none with J2ME or Blackberry's gui, so I think I'd be able to help, but probably not program this entirely on my own.

I imagine that the user could be presented with a list of current service books with checkboxes next to each. The user can select which service books he/she wants to block and the program will delete it. However, when a service book is deleted, it eventually gets pushed back to the device, so what this app would have to do is poll the device once a day or so and see if the service book is there. If so, it would just have to delete it again unless the API has a way to notify programs when new service books arrive. I imagine this app would probably have to run in the background, but only making calls once a day would probably not put much drain on the battery.

I'd love to be involved in the development of this program, and ideally would love to see this as a free app, but I believe you have to have an API key to run apps on startup (an ideal function) which costs money, so I guess it would have to be made up.

Is there much demand for this type of app? Anyone else interested? Anyone willing to help create it?
    08-05-09 08:16 AM
    Great idea. I could permanently remove service books such as Google Talk, voice dialing and yahoo! That would be an excellent app if possible.

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    08-05-09 08:46 AM
    It would probably need to poll more often than once a day unless you have it poll an hour or so after it reboots.