Hi, I'm a college student and live in Montreal. I own a Bold 9900 unlocked (using Rogers) and I can't seem to find a reliable Maps application. I have both Google Maps and Blackberry Maps installed on my smartphone and they seem to enjoy letting me down in times of need.
    Sometimes it would lock on my real location or sometimes they would give me an estimate. This can be very frustrating for me as I am still new to this city. It even came down to the point where I had to use the hotspot feature to connect my iPod touch and use its mapping application to locate myself, which worked effectively.

I tried the GPS test from device Analyzer once and it give me my accurate location, I know for a fact that it's not an Hardware issue.
    I am willing to pay for a great map application on App World, but for some reason I' don't trust those reviews, that is why I came to this forums to get some suggestions from you guys.
    I am on the official Rogers 7.1.0.391, (might useful since BB maps version depends on the OS).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by solosoldier3000; 06-16-12 at 02:33 AM.
    06-16-12 02:29 AM
    Goggle Maps is probably the best mapping program for a BlackBerry.

It uses two methods to find your location.

Cell tower triangulation and GPS. The BlackBerry is a phone with a GPS receiver as an add-on. It is not a dedicated GPS positioning device. The GPS antenna is nothing like as good as a Gamin Trek device.

My own experience with BlackBerrys and map positioning is that the phone will almost always give you an approximate position based on cell towers. This is usually better than 100M. Once I get a good GPS fix, accuracy can be as good as 6M.