Hi all, blackberry newbie here I'm afraid. I was after a bit of advice about something if possible. I'm figuring out most things but am a bit confused when it comes to wifi, mobile internet and applications.

Please correct me if I'm wrong, as it was quite difficult to get info out of the tmobile guys!
    My data plan covers push email and wifi but not the mobile internet (Tmobs web n walk)

So am I correct in thinking...

Applications such as facebook and windows live messenger are free regardless of whether I'm covered by wifi or not, and don't cost me the web n walk costs as these are not on my plan? (this is what the tmob guy just told me but he didnt sound too sure)

Email is free to send and receive?

I can browse internet for free using wifi connection, but it will cost me using mobile internet connection?

Also, can anyone tell me the symbol for when you're connected to web and walk, because although I'm mostly using the phone in wifi areas for internet purposes I'm scared of accidentally using the phone in a non wifi area and then getting charged for the internet costs!

All help is much appreciated.

PS I do love my new blackberry - wish I'd got one years ago, they're great!
    12-05-09 05:43 AM
    If you have a dataplan allowing email etc, I would assume that it would also cover browsing too. Most plans certainly do. ALL data, should be covered in that. What tariff are you actually on?

Some carriers charge for streamed data, i.e youtube, and others also charge for chat clients MSN etc.

Long and short of it, with a data plan, email, BBM, standard browsing should all be inc.

Based on UK tariffs anyway lol.

Welcome to Blackberry ownership, its great.
    Add me on BBM if I can help with anything
    12-05-09 06:56 AM
    my BIS is $40 per month (limited up to 5MB per month) while my Mobile Plan is $80..

thus,