I'm new to the BlackBerry world and will be getting the BlackBerry curve soon and was wondering if I can load and run applications from a mini sd card? I am coming from the Treo world which has a number of applications that can launch programs from the SD card.
    07-17-08 11:11 PM
    Apps need to be installed on the device and run from the device memory.

There is a 3rd party software program that allows you to load apps on a micro SD card and swap them to the device when you want to utilize those apps and back to the card when not using them:

Aerize Card Loader 2008 - SD card install utility - Personal Productivity BlackBerry Software - Crackberry Store
    07-17-08 11:45 PM
    I have this software and it is very convenient. However keep in mind swap is not really what it's doing. It will uninstall the program from your BB and store the .cod file on you SD card. Then you can reinstall it from the SD card when you want. Saved data will be gone on an unload and you'll need to reboot. I talked to their tech support and they hope to be able to actually run an app from the SD card at some point. Can't wait for that!

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    07-18-08 12:21 AM
    Thanks! I'm glad to hear that a company might be trying to get applications to be stored and launched on the mini sd card. It only makes sense that this can happen... I have to admit that I am totally surprised that this hasn't happened yet since the memory cards have become so much cheaper and would be an effective way to store and more importantly run programs from!
    07-18-08 12:25 AM