Hello everyone,

So here's a little background:
    I have a BB9000 and my gf has a BB8520. I have a data plan, and her data plan has just expired. We wanted to continue being in touch by texting so I downloaded Whatsapp for her to use when she's at home or work with a WiFi spot available. I continue to use my 3G data plan.

Now the weird behavior:
    We noticed something odd. Her Whatsapp started working without WiFi connection!! See, I'm no expert in Mobile communications or anything, but I have checked the Connections menu, it has WiFi on, but it's definitely not connected to any WiFi spot, and in the "Blackberry Internet Service" state, it says Not Connected... She can't explore any webpages or send/receive emails nor PIN messages... But Whatsapp is working

I guess it might be related with Whatsapp being routed through the phone number, but without internet connection, I don't see how's that working...

I'm just so curious about maybe there is a way to get it to work like this, there's got to be an explanation...

If there's anyone with an idea, you'll be welcome to share...

Thanks!
    02-15-11 10:34 PM
    Can you try turning off the mobile network and seeing if that works?
    02-15-11 11:30 PM
    Thanks for your reply!

I've tried using it when there is no mobile network signal and it doesn't work there... And as soon as the mobile signal is available, it works again...
    So it is using the mobile network to send the messages, but still I can't access to any internet service other than Whatsapp...
    I still don't get how :S
    02-16-11 11:39 AM
    This sounds like the phone is using WAP services or some sort. Not sure if that is happening but just my 2 cents.
    02-16-11 12:07 PM