Okay, well, I'm a Blackberry newb. First off, it's a fantastic device with some really amazing software features. Kudos to RIM for making it very easy to upgrade/downgrade your OS.

Which is what I've been doing nonstop for two days. Here is my story:

I received an 8310 from my boss at work. It was used by a previous employee, so I wiped the device and began to enjoy my new gateway to all that is the glorious mobile internet.

It came with Facebook 1.2. Awesome! I can check out my friends' status pages and reply to them! But no, Facebook 1.2 cannot respond to a friend's status. No worries, Facebook 1.6 is out, so I'll just erase Facebook 1.2, get the new version, and...

"907 Invalid COD". From sifting through *every Blackberry forum on the internet*, I found that this error is usually accompanied by further information, such as "Connection timed out" or "503 Internal Server Error". Mine, however, only stoically gives the 907 error without any further explanation.

Common wisdom says that you should get it from the App Store, but the App Store is unavailable in my country. So I surfed to the blackberry mobile site to download it to my computer and then deploy to the blackberry. No luck, for some reason Blackberry does not allow you to do this anymore.

I try again from the browser on the blackberry. "907 Invalid COD". I can install everything else, even from the browser, so I assume the blackberry site is broken. I download version 1.5. 1.2. 1.5.32 from some helpful folks at the Crackberry forums. It installs fine, but I get no icon. It turns out that this is because 1.5 only supports OS 4.6, and "only" 4.5 is available on the 8310.

I downgrade to OS 4.2. 4.5 again. Three different versions of 4.5. Back to 4.2, all trying different Facebook versions - no luck. What's worse is that everyone else's issue seems to be resolved by using Facebook 1.6, but no matter which version of the OS I use, I still get "907 Invalid COD" from the download site.