My Storm's battery lasts around 3 hours if I'm listening to music and browsing the web and even when I'm not, it does drain really quickly and it appears there's lots of other people with the same issue. The Storm's my first BB btw.

I'd like to suggest creating an app which upon running, will switch off the GPS, maybe make phone 2G only (does this save battery?), switch off bluetooth etc. I'm not an expert but basically it will switch off some features which are heavy on battery consumption.

The user will be able to customize what the app does (e.g. if you don't want the phone to enter 2G mode, you'd leave a checkbox unchecked in the App settings).

The idea is that the app would be assigned to one of the customizable keys, so as soon as you've pressed the key the phone will save battery usage and you'd press it again to bring back all services.

Any ideas and thoughts on feasibility?
    Last edited by .blue; 03-09-09 at 04:41 AM.
    03-09-09 04:14 AM
    I would def. buy it.
    03-09-09 04:18 AM
    sounds like a cool idea. the app could have it go into savings mode after certain amount of idle time. i dont know if a program can do all this, but its def. a cool idea.
    03-09-09 04:55 AM
    Yeah, I liked the idea a lot.
    It really helps. I hope someone would consider making a such app.
    03-09-09 04:58 AM
    My Storm's battery lasts around 3 hours if I'm listening to music and browsing the web and even when I'm not, it does drain really quickly and it appears there's lots of other people with the same issue. The Storm's my first BB btw.

I'd like to suggest creating an app which upon running, will switch off the GPS, maybe make phone 2G only (does this save battery?), switch off bluetooth etc. I'm not an expert but basically it will switch off some features which are heavy on battery consumption.