Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. anon5129477's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    744 Posts
    Global Posts
    919 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Account info needed update your password for PC? Using link on PC

    Your account is currently configured on the PC computer . You cam make config and sync changes for this account using BB link on PC.


    What is this all about? Why am i getting notice about this in the hub. Where do I change a password for my computer and link. PC and link work together, what password? Where ?
  2. ivantwilliams's Avatar
    Distinguished

    Posts
    13,592 Posts
    Global Posts
    16,561 Global Posts
    PIN
    Ask Me
    #2  

    Default

    Did you happen to connect your device via BlackBerry Link using WIFI for syncing?
  3. anon5129477's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    744 Posts
    Global Posts
    919 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    yeah I have wifi on . wifi syncs media . Why do you ask? Why cant anyone tell me why this is happening ?

    The message comes at random times. First thing this morning, phone unplugged.
  4. atj31904's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I'm having the same issue. I get a notification at least once a day that I need to update my account password on my laptop, yet when I go to Blackberry Link on the laptop, I'm already signed in. I sign out of link and back in and still can't get rid of this notification. I really would like to get this resolved.
  5. anon5129477's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    744 Posts
    Global Posts
    919 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    that is correct , its a bug needs fixed
  6. drew8484's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    511 Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Does anyone have a fix for this yet? I get this notification at least once a day.
  7. To_Stein's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    I have exactly the same issue for quite some time. Message headline is: "Account data required" and text is "You have to update your account password for <pc name>" (my free translation into English).

    I am running official 10.2.0.424 (1791) with latest BB Link 1.2.0.28. Connected only via USB, no WiFi. Message shows up as alert about once every day or every other day without any further information.

    Any help or clues out there? Highly appreciated!

    Thank you!
    Last edited by To_Stein; 12-25-13 at 04:12 AM.
  8. djh77007's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #8  

    Unhappy

    I also have this constant nagging problem. Is there no one out there with a potential solution?
  9. ff1520's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    194 Posts
    PIN
    333C7BEE
    #9  

    Default

    Have had the same intermittent issue for a very long time, using several different versions of Link as well as numerous different leaked OS versions for my Z10. Have yet to find a 'good' fix. Have just gotten used to deleting the notification and ignoring it. It would be nice if this issue would get addressed. It's been a while since Link was updated, perhaps a new BetaZone release is on the way, or even better perhaps a full and official release is in the works. Link has been SLOWLY improving since its original release, but definitely still in need of some serious improvements/bug fixes/feature enhancements/optimizations.

    Should any of you find a CURE, please let me know.

    Thanks
    Rick

    Z10 STL100-4 v10.3.2.2339 / Playbook v2.1.0.1917
  10. japplebyvines's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    When you open Blackberry Link, at the top is a link that says Sign In. Go ahead and sign in with your Blackberry ID. Now you shouldn't get that message and you can now access files on your computer via your device.
  11. Observer2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    118 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Add me to the list. Been dealing with this nuisance for many months. Doesn't matter if I am signed in or not. OS is Win7.

    Posted via CB10
    PassportSQW100-1 / 10.3.2.680
  12. drew8484's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    511 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    It seems the problem has gone away for me. Not sure if it was the latest link upgrade, or installing the 10.2.1.176 os leak.
  13. Observer2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    118 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Add me to the list. Been dealing with this exact same issue for many months.

    Posted via CB10
    PassportSQW100-1 / 10.3.2.680
  14. Observer2's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    118 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Z10stl100-3/10.2.1.1055
    PassportSQW100-1 / 10.3.2.680
  15. wout000's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    737 Posts
    Global Posts
    744 Global Posts
    PIN
    Pin? Ask me for it
    #15  

    Default

    Thig 'bug' happens when your BlackBerry hasn't been able to communicate with your computer for a while.
    I used to get the notifications as well until I found out that my PC goes into sleep mode after a set period of time which also disables my network adapter. When this happens my Z10 can't communicate with Link and I get the message in my Hub.

    Check to see if your computer hasn't lost it's internet connection when you get the message or try to figure out the reason why your phone can't communicate with your PC (timeout, bad connection, ...)
    Money is better than poverty, if only for financial reasons.
  16. andalex's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    43 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    I found a SOLUTION!

    I was struggling with this for 2 months and I got the notification every morning at 3 AM. "Account Info needed for XXXX-PC" - my BBLINK account.

    Due to my work, I could not put my phone into sleep mode, so it woke us up and my wife was ready to through me out with my Z10....

    Since OS 10.2.1 came out I was able to backup and restore my settings after an autoloader install.

    I decided to wipe my phone, reloaded OS 10.2.1.3175 with autoloader and manually set all my accounts up from scratch.

    MIRACLE: the notifications are gone! I can sleep again and my marriage is saved.

    It has to be a glitch in the restore process of the accounts....
  17. oorozcob's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #17  

    Default

    Does anyone know why this happens? It is happening with no reason and needless to say annoying... can this be deactivated?
  18. Electric boy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #18  

    Default acct info needed notification - PLS HELP

    Got the same problem over here, says I need to ``update your account password for xxxx laptop
  19. benzimidazolone's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    27 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I am having the same problem since I switched about 2 months ago to the Passport. Never had the issue with my Z10. I have tried all sorts of combinations including connective via wife and via USB and signing out and back into BB Link. Nothing seems to make a difference. Running BB Passport on 10.3.0.908 and BB Link 1.2.4.27. Any advice would be appreciated.
  20. Blackberry_Boy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    138 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andalex View Post
    I found a SOLUTION!

    I was struggling with this for 2 months and I got the notification every morning at 3 AM. "Account Info needed for XXXX-PC" - my BBLINK account.

    Due to my work, I could not put my phone into sleep mode, so it woke us up and my wife was ready to through me out with my Z10....

    Since OS 10.2.1 came out I was able to backup and restore my settings after an autoloader install.

    I decided to wipe my phone, reloaded OS 10.2.1.3175 with autoloader and manually set all my accounts up from scratch.

    MIRACLE: the notifications are gone! I can sleep again and my marriage is saved.

    It has to be a glitch in the restore process of the accounts....
    This sounds drastic and complicated. Wow!
  21. Blackberry_Boy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    138 Posts
    #21  

    Default

    Yup. Me too. A pain but I can live with it I guess.
  22. John Vieira's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,632 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    OK, the account info needed bug has something to do with accounts not carrying over correctly.

    It most often occurs when restoring a backup file either after switching your device, or wiping and restoring.

    There are two known fixes.

    For the longest time the only known fix was to wipe and NOT restore.

    Starting from scratch.

    The other fix is thanks to a developer here on the forums, who made an app called accounts cleaner.

    It's a free app, and if used correctly, will fix this bug without needing to wipe. However you have to be careful with it, it can really mess up your device (and then you'll need to wipe anyway)

    Check out Accounts Cleaner in BlackBerry World! You can find it at http://appworld.blackberry.com/webst...ntent/59956050

    Work Wide and Prosper

Similar Threads

  1. Z10 switching off when posting pictures on instagram
    By MoSalvatore in forum BlackBerry Z10
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-11-15, 02:39 AM
  2. Classic colors are clearly for the VW Jetta in you (mission gun metal grey)
    By Hello Blackberry World in forum BlackBerry Classic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-04-15, 10:06 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-04-15, 11:24 AM
  4. Cheaper BB Classic soft shell cases on amazon
    By jmo712 in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-04-15, 10:49 AM

Posting Permissions