Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 22 of 22
  1. rlordi20's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Virgin Mobile 8530 Tethering

    Hey everyone, looking into switching from Verizon to VMUSA. I have the tour and really would like the wifi and trackpad instead of the ball. I already own the tether application and was wondering if tethering would work on this carrier?

    I read on one of the FAQs on the 8530 on the site that someone said they blocked tethering applications. I was just wondering how they can block a download or if that is even possible.

    If anyone has a VM 8530 that is tethering, let me know! If i can't tether, then I dont know if im gonna spend the 300 on the phone.

    Thanks
    Ron
  2. Arcsech's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    9 Posts
    Global Posts
    15 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I don't have mine yet so I can't test, but according to early reports of Howardforums, Tether and PDAnet both work.

    Be advised, though, that tethering is against the VMUSA acceptable use policy. There haven't been reports of any action against tetherers yet, but be aware there may be in future.
  3. rlordi20's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Ok cool. Yeah was against VZW too, but no issues there. No way they can tell when it looks like the same data. Its not like im downloading, its just browsing. prob use more on Pandora streaming, lol. Hopefully it works, not sure what they could even do, its not like it's a 2 year contract.
  4. snowsurfair's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Hey, Sorry to awaken an old thread, but were either of you guys able to get it working?

    Thanks.
  5. Xenku's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Yes, did you guys tether successfully with the 8530 on Virgin Mobile? I too would only use it for browsing and basic on the road internet. I do all my downloading with my Cable Internet at home, WAY much faster anyway.
  6. verngrey212's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #6  

    Default well?

    Does tether work with it? I'm gonna pick it up regardless now that its $249, but it would be nice if it did.
    Last edited by verngrey212; 08-26-2010 at 11:57 PM.
  7. jc1685's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Yes, would love to hear any details about this. Also, if you tether with Blackberry Desktop Manager, which setting do you use? Virgin Mobile doesn't appear on the list.
  8. garygorgor's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #8  

    Default

    what program do you use to tether?
  9. aidan80's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #9  

    Smile

    Tether works on Virgin Mobile. I'm using the 8530 with Tether (download the trial and try it out?) and haven't had any problems or issues. Depending on where I'm at and the time of day I'm getting a solid 1MB connection, low has been about half a meg. It's spiked from time to time to 2MB. More than enough to check emails and do some youtubing! I got Tether 50% off just a few days ago using this code "tether50" try it out! I've read that this code is active at random?

    As for Virgin Mobile (Sprint?) and the pay as you go blackberry I have to say I'm very impressed! $60 a month unlimited everything! Throw tether into the mix and you now have unlimited on the road web via laptop/netbook too. If you want to hotspot your newly liberated internet... share the connection using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) in Windows. Available in all versions of Windows from 98 - 7!

    Good luck!
    Last edited by aidan80; 09-12-2010 at 10:38 PM.
    Thanked by:
    ADFXPro777 (05-31-2011) 
  10. aidan80's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garygorgor View Post
    what program do you use to tether?
    Funny enough I asked myself the same question before. A few minutes of googling later (google seems to know all lol) and I had my answer! A program called "Tether" once known as "Tetherberry". You can download a free trial from their website.
  11. agentdude's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    5 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Ok i am confirming that it works and its FREE.. well kinda... ok the website is TetherBridge Download its a 3 day trial ,BUT they have an unlimited free version that works just as well read the site for more info about it. I am so happy it works. All i need now is my BB and my laptop and im good to go anywhere!!
  12. lmaras's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    10 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    Hello, I have been unable to get this to work. Two connections show up (Virgin Mobile and Virgin Mobile Canada) but I can't get either one to connect. Any suggestions?

    TIA
  13. blackcaneaddict's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    356 Posts
    Global Posts
    387 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quick tethering through wifi connection question.

    So I finally had a chance to try out the tether app yesterday on my laptop that doesn't have wifi. Worked great and it was easy of set-up, but the internet speed left a lot to be desired. Crackberry.com took forever to load up while the mobile site didn't take quite as long. I was just wondering if instead of using my network to tethering I could use a wifi hotspot to tether?

    I've search these forums for a answer, but I just need a clear yes or no.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    Last edited by blackcaneaddict; 01-11-2011 at 06:08 AM.
  14. digigal's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    I've been trying to do this with my Ubuntu 9.04 netbook using Barry. For what I can tell, I need the peer and chat script files (Sprint's didn't work). If anyboybody has a copy, PLEASE pm me.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  15. bigbob417's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    40 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    I use the tether function built in to DM with my TMo 8900. Looking to get the VM 8530, though, so if anyone out there gets that combo to work, please inform. Thanks in advance.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  16. dangleberrys's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    52 Posts
    #16  

    Default

    so to clarify, I installed a new version of the BB computer app. It now has a quick link to tether to get it started. I got to where I picked the provider (sprint) but it said charges may apply so I stopped. Not wanting to get extra charges. But ive also ran across that warning on pandora I think. May be a generic warning.
    Im on virgin mobile, no contract. So I have 300 min talk, and unlimited data for $35 per month. The data rocks always connected full signal. Would be nice to try my laptop to see if it really works, but just dont want to get hit with a extra charge.
  17. lpnalda's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    61 Posts
    Global Posts
    64 Global Posts
    PIN
    320FA7D7
    #17  

    Default

    Do these tethering apps allow the Curve to be used as a Mobile Hotspot? I ask as I want to use this with my iPad to get online when I don't have a wifi hotspot.
  18. lpnalda's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    61 Posts
    Global Posts
    64 Global Posts
    PIN
    320FA7D7
    #18  

    Default

    FWIW I know there was a mobile hotspot app for the VM android phones, but hope there's something like this for my BB Curve. That would be so cool!
  19. dangleberrys's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    52 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I called virgin mobile, and they said tethering is disabled. Now I never tried it to verify what they had said
  20. ADFXPro777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    176 Posts
    Global Posts
    177 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aidan80 View Post
    Tether works on Virgin Mobile. I'm using the 8530 with Tether (download the trial and try it out?) and haven't had any problems or issues. Depending on where I'm at and the time of day I'm getting a solid 1MB connection, low has been about half a meg. It's spiked from time to time to 2MB. More than enough to check emails and do some youtubing! I got Tether 50% off just a few days ago using this code "tether50" try it out! I've read that this code is active at random?

    As for Virgin Mobile (Sprint?) and the pay as you go blackberry I have to say I'm very impressed! $60 a month unlimited everything! Throw tether into the mix and you now have unlimited on the road web via laptop/netbook too. If you want to hotspot your newly liberated internet... share the connection using ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) in Windows. Available in all versions of Windows from 98 - 7!

    Good luck!
    This might be one of a few ways to fully tether a VM-powered Blackberry. Also, crackberry.com has a review of this app here:

    http://crackberry.com/tether-blackberry-review
    Thanked by:
    lpnalda (05-31-2011) 
  21. lpnalda's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    61 Posts
    Global Posts
    64 Global Posts
    PIN
    320FA7D7
    #21  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BBFXPro777 View Post
    This might be one of a few ways to fully tether a VM-powered Blackberry. Also, crackberry.com has a review of this app here:

    http://crackberry.com/tether-blackberry-review
    I might download this and try tethering my IPad to my BB. By the way I sure love that demo guys BB theme lol! Makes the BB look like my Mac.
  22. dangleberrys's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    52 Posts
    #22  

    Default

    hey is there a way to teather to my ipad with my blackberry 8530
    I have not installed teather yet
    I doubt I can use the usb on my ipad to get the internet
    but I saw on teather site it mentioned bluetooth?

    just wanted a way to use the ipad with my phone as the connection

Posting Permissions