I got this blackberry curve 8330 phone on ebay, and i want to know what I have to do in order to use it. It uses verizon wireless but I can't call anyone and the phone number is one from a different state.

So my questions are, how can I get some prepaid minutes in a cheap way. I only probably need 20-30 minutes atm. What are some cheap places? This is my first cell phone so I'm new to all this. And will the number show up as a public number because I would prefer that as some people redirect private calls to voice mail which isn't what I want.

Also if i wanted to change the phone number, how would i do that? If it means paying a lot more or something than i'd rather not.

This site looks good, the saturn card: eecalling . c o m
    Last edited by sloppyjoe778; 12-02-11 at 08:24 AM.
    12-02-11 07:38 AM
    Are you using the phone on Verizon? If so, why isn't the phone number on it from your state?

And in what country/state are the people you wish to call?

Those phone cards that you linked are designed to allow inexpensive international calls while allowing you to call a local or toll-free number. But those calls will still use minutes on your cell phone in addition to the minutes on the card.
    12-02-11 11:11 AM
    Well I got it off ebay. So the phone number is that of the original seller. He lives in new jersey and I live in new york. When I try to use the phone it says "we are unable to authenticate your phone. Dial *8899". And than gives me the option to collect call, or buy a prepaid card or talk to someone about redirecting calls.

I guess the site i linked too wasn't that good ;( Damn. Is there any site that will work for this? I'm going to call up verizon and try to figure this out. So confusing, I just want to call people without getting their answering machine (because google call phone shows up as a private number i guess).

So which prepaid cards will work? And am I supposed to change the number or does it matter?
    12-02-11 04:07 PM