Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 105
  1. emily352's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Question Using Curve As Modem

    A frined of mine is able to use her AT&T BB Pearl as a modem for her computer. Can anyone in assist with how to use AT&T BB Curve as a modem? I've tried and not having success, and quite honestly, getting very frustrated. HELP!!!
    Last edited by emily352; 08-10-2007 at 06:23 PM.
  2. Xizor's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    20 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    That is a paid for feature called teathering. Verizon charge's $15 extra a month for that if you have a voice and data plan. I think ATT charges $30+.
    And you will need software installed to make it work.
  3. thenick24's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    54 Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I found some intructions to do it on the blackberry website, but if your like me with att we need some code, and i'm not sure how to get it.
  4. MDBerry969's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    13 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Emily this should help you, I was successful at getting my Curve to work as a modem using the steps below. Make sure you follow the directions & type everything in just as you see it. Step 2 Line 6 is very important

    Using BB as a Modem

    A BlackBerry device (with tethered modem capability) can be used as an external modem to connect a laptop computer to the Internet.

    To set up a tethered modem, complete the following tasks:
    1. Install BlackBerry Desktop Software version 4.1 or later
    2. Set up the Internet Access Point Name (APN) (one time only)
    3. Configure dial-up networking (one time only)
    4. Connect the BlackBerry device to BlackBerry Desktop Manager
    5. Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking

    Step 1

    Install BlackBerry Desktop Software version 4.1 or later on the laptop or personal computer.
    When you install BlackBerry Desktop Software, the drivers that enable the BlackBerry device to communicate through the USB port and virtual COM port are installed. The Standard Modem, which is used by dial-up networking, is also installed.
    Note: If you are upgrading your BlackBerry Desktop Software from version 4.0 to 4.1, the required Virtual COM Port and Standard Modem might be removed during the upgrade process. If this is the case, re-install the BlackBerry Desktop Software 4.1 or later and choose the Repair option to re-install these components.

    Step 2

    Set up Internet APN.
    1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    2. Double-click Phone and Modem Options.
    3. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab.
    4. Select Standard Modem and click Properties.
    5. In the Standard Modem Properties window, Click the Advanced Tab.
    6. In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following: +cgdcont=1,"IP","<your Internet APN>"
    (remove<>when typing in ur APN)
    Example; +cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.cingular"
    Note: If you do not know your Internet APN, or if you do not have an Internet APN, contact your service provider.
    7. Click OK.
    8. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click OK.

    ATT/Cingular Settings
    APN: wap.cingular
    user name for APN: WAP@CINGULARGPRS.COM
    Password: CINGULAR1
    This is how I found my settings on my BB Curve - Options>Advanced Options>TCP. The APN will say, for example, wap.cingular

    Step 3

    To configure dial-up networking, complete the procedure that corresponds with the operating system you are using.
    Windows XP Operating System
    1. Go to Start > Settings > Network Connections.
    2. Double-click New Connection Wizard. The New Connection Wizard opens.
    3. Click Next.
    4. Select the Connect to the Internet option. Click Next.
    5. Select Setup my connection manually. Click Next.
    6. Select Connect using a dial-up modem. Click Next.
    7. If the Select a Device screen appears, select the Modem - Standard Modem check box. Click Next.
    8. In the ISP Name field, type a name for your connection. Click Next.
    9. In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next.
    10. Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next.
    11. Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider. Click Next.
    12. Click Finish.
    13. In the Connect window, click Properties.
    14. In the Properties window, verify that Modem - Standard Modem appears beneath the Connect using heading, then click Configure.
    15. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK.
    16. In the Properties window, click OK.

    Windows 2000 Operating System
    1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    2. Double-click Network and Dial-up Connections.
    3. Double-click Make New Connection. The Network Connection Wizard opens.
    4. Click Next.
    5. Choose Dial-up to private network. Click Next.
    6. In the Phone number field, type *99#. Click Next.
    7. Indicate which users will have access to the connection. Click Next.
    8. Type a name for your connection. Click Finish.
    9. In the Connect window, click Properties.
    10. In the Properties window, verify that Modem Standard Modem is selected, then click Configure.
    11. In the Modem Configuration window, clear the Enable hardware flow control check box and make sure none of the other check boxes are selected. Click OK.
    12. In the Properties window, click OK.

    Step 4

    Connect the BlackBerry device to the computer and verify that BlackBerry Desktop Manager displays Connected. The device must be identified by BlackBerry Desktop Manager in order for the modem to establish a connection.
    Important: BlackBerry Desktop Manager must be running for the tethered modem to function.

    Step 5
    Connect to the Internet using dial-up networking.
    Note: During this procedure, do not operate the BlackBerry Browser or any third-party applications on the BlackBerry device. An active data session may interfere with the modem connection. Connect the BlackBerry device to the laptop computer.
    1. Open BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
    2. Click Start > Settings > Network Connections > <name of your new connection>.
    3. Enter the user name and password provided by your service provider. (this should be saved there already)
    4. Click Dial.

    This will solve your problem
  5. thenick24's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    54 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Thank you so much MDberry i got it to work, will att try to charge me for using this?
  6. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,241 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,480 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Only if your silly enough to call them when it does NOT work because they have adjusted your APN correctly, eventually if you do not have a tethering plan, the system WILL catch it and kill off the connection. every BB account has a correct APN assigned to it to determine what functionality your device can have, BB has their own specific APN, when the system routes it back to your SIM and IMSI on your device it will boot the connection as you are not an authorized user of the APN your utilizing...while AT&T cannot charge you for it, if you were silly enough to call and complain they would kindly let you know that you were not subscribed to a tethering plan, therefore should not have the functionality to do so, with out subscribing to the plan 2 things will eventually happen..

    A) system would have caught you and killed the connection causing you to call at&t and inquire as the wap.cingular APN is needed for BB emails and Browser usage as well as text messages and MMS and system would have removed it.

    B) at&t would offer you no assistance with tethering until a tethering plan was purchased for the account.
    Last edited by Bla1ze; 08-30-2007 at 12:26 AM.
    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
  7. Solachica's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,725 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    I used those steps and the APN for my carrier and it works !

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  8. wgflax's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    15 Posts
    PIN
    Your Hopes On Me
    #8  

    Default

    Solachia, need help with my TSTT curve. I am not sure I have correct APN inputted and question if username and password should be same as one given for tstt blackberry login.

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  9. Solachica's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,725 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Wgflax you don't need a user name and password becos you are not dialing up per se.If you got your configurations right then all you do is dial, leaving user name and password blank.
    The APN is 'Internet'
    Hope you get thru.
    BTW did your bmobile blackberry email get removed? I signed up with TSTT and with the blackout seems my email got wiped. I tried re-adding and it said tht my email chosen was already taken. So I had to make different BB email :-(

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  10. wafi's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    65 Posts
    Global Posts
    66 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MDBerry969 View Post
    Emily this should help you, I was successful at getting my Curve to work as a modem using the steps below. Make sure you follow the directions & type everything in just as you see it. Step 2 Line 6 is very important

    Using BB as a Modem



    This will solve your problem
    MDBerry969 thanks! I just followed your directions and Ive got my CURVE working as a modem for my XPS laptop! As a matter of fact Im using it right now to post this reply! Thx again!
  11. MDBerry969's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    13 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    No Problem, just keeping the addiction alive
  12. ddsmd's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #12  

    Default

    I used to be able to get my curve working as a modem for my laptop. Lately, I've been getting the "Error 721. The remote computer did not respond." Do you guys think that AT&T cut off my freebie tethering? Please help if possible. Thanks!
  13. hhemmati's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #13  

    Default Settings for T-Mobile?

    Hi!

    Newbie here. Does anyone have blackberry 8320 tethering instructions for TMobile?

    Thanks so so much!

    HH
  14. bobtherob67's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    step 2 line 6 is very hard for me. i have cingular/at&t and i dont know what to put in for this field can some one help
  15. mr.madison's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    179 Posts
    Global Posts
    181 Global Posts
    PIN
    217bc1cc
    #15  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hhemmati View Post
    Hi!

    Newbie here. Does anyone have blackberry 8320 tethering instructions for TMobile?

    Thanks so so much!

    HH

    anyone? i could u that as well
  16. kirk_kontagious's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #16  

    Default limited connectivity

    i have used those settings and its worked for my carrier with the APN set as +cgdcont=1,"IP","blackberry.net" but i am getting limited connectivity can anyone tell me y this is?
  17. Kaos's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    170 Posts
    Global Posts
    171 Global Posts
    PIN
    24ABAEA0
    #17  

    Default

    Replace Blackberry.net with
    Wap.voicestream.com
    If the Lord seems so far away, who moved?.
  18. aoprods's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    363 Posts
    PIN
    :-(
    #18  

    Default

    Can the curve be used as a modem with an imac? If so, how or please direct me to the right thread/forum. Thanks
  19. flyassnig's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I personally have no idea what configuration is used for an imac, since I don't use mac products, but as for tethering the curve

    with tmobile

    Set up the init string:

    1. Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
    2. Double-click Phone and Modem Options.
    3. In the Phone and Modem Options window, click the Modems tab.
    4. Select Standard Modem and click Properties.
    5. In the Standard Modem Properties window, Click the Advanced Tab.
    6. In the Extra initialization commands field, type the following: +cgdcont=1,"IP","wap.voicestream.com"1,1


    set up dial up connection manually using standard modem
    leave username and password blank

    dial *99#
  20. BobbyB#CB's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Just used the above settings to set up my Tmobile 8320 with my laptop (XP). Works like a champ. Thanks from an ultra newbie.
  21. Optimus_Prime's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    542 Posts
    Global Posts
    543 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    I got error #692 : hardware failure
    then when I tried again I got Error #619
    error #628
    error #651
    etc

    Any help?

    what I am confuse it, at the user name and password, what do I use?
    my user name for BIS, or the ATT that I used to log in to ATT wireless website.

    Thanks for your help
  22. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,241 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,480 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Optimus, you need to have a BB tethering plan on AT&T, any other method will work for the short term, but as soon as the system catches it, it will kill the connection and for AT&T you have 2 options...set it up as a dial up connection or....download the AT&T communication manager if you set it up as a dial up connection, their is no username and password anymore for the services...if you use the communication manager, just install it, and use the "set up wizard" choose BlackBerry device, it will do the rest....if you need further documentation email me and I will send you all the required information tomorrow from work to follow along with.
    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
  23. Optimus_Prime's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    542 Posts
    Global Posts
    543 Global Posts
    #23  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bla1ze View Post
    Optimus, you need to have a BB tethering plan on AT&T, any other method will work for the short term, but as soon as the system catches it, it will kill the connection and for AT&T you have 2 options...set it up as a dial up connection or....download the AT&T communication manager if you set it up as a dial up connection, their is no username and password anymore for the services...if you use the communication manager, just install it, and use the "set up wizard" choose BlackBerry device, it will do the rest....if you need further documentation email me and I will send you all the required information tomorrow from work to follow along with.


    Blaize,
    Does those errors mean AT&T catch me trying to connect using tethering w/o plan and kill the connection?

    My 2 options above, Does it mean that I have to subscribe to the tethering plan?

    Thanks


    ps: I will send you an email for more info,
  24. Bla1ze's Avatar
    Editor in Chief

    Posts
    11,241 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,480 Global Posts
    #24  

    Default

    The errors are kinda "generic" connectivity errors, it could mean that they are busting you and refusing the connection ..or you really are just having a connection issue at this point...and yes to avoid baiscally having the ability..then running the risk of the system catching it, you WILL need to have a tethering plan, this is the only way to ensure it will work 100% of the time any other method is just a shot in the dark and could stop working at any given point.
    Answers are easy. It's asking the right questions which is hard. - The Doctor

    [ Mobile Nations Sites: Android, iOS, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, Connectedly]
  25. ephoto's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #25  

    Default Mac OS X

    Quote Originally Posted by aoprods View Post
    Can the curve be used as a modem with an imac? If so, how or please direct me to the right thread/forum. Thanks
    Apparently BB tethered modems do not work with Macs . It is an unfolding story though, you can follow it here perishablepress.com/press/2007/06/12/blackberry-curve-as-bluetooth-modem-for-mac

    Sorry, I'm new to this forum and can post the link.
Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions