I am a complete Blackberry novice and don't understand any of this stuff, but my sister gave me an AT&T BB 8310 Curve. I had it unlocked and added a BlackBerry web and data service to my T-mobile account for the phone. Everything works fine, including internet access, but when I click on the email setup icon to set up my email I get an AT&T logo and get the message: "We apologize, there was an error trying to access the service. Click here to try again". If I click on "retry" it goes to the t-zones internet page (T-Mobile) when I click on retry -- no email setup in sight. I tried to set up the email service on the T-Mobile website, but when I click on "set up email service" there I get the same error message. I went to the T-Mobile store and the sales person called tech support, but nothing they tried worked. I was told because it is an AT&T phone, I won't be able to get email to work on my T-Mobile service and I need to buy a T-Mobile phone. Can anything be done?

Here is what I have done so far with no resolution of the problem. I downloaded the 4.5 os, deleting the vendor file before I loaded it onto the device. I still can't set up the email. I changed the tcp setting to the T-Mobile setting. No help there. T-Mobile removed the provisioning and re-added me. No change. They had me re-register using host routing table -- nada.

Has anyone purchased an at&t 8310 curve and sucessfully unlocked it and used it with T-mobile service with all the features? Any other ideas? All help appreciated!
    04-07-09 01:24 PM
    You should be able to get TMO email on your BB. That said, I'm not sure why it's not working.
    04-07-09 02:25 PM
    It sounds like to me that when the phone was "unlocked" that they didn't clear the PIN on the BIS(BlackBerry Internet Service) or even worse the BES(BlackBerry Enterprise Server). The PIN is hardware specific and will not change from provider to provider since it is assigned by RIM.
    04-07-09 03:05 PM