Alright I am new to blackberry (just got it on the 24th), I am still trying to figure out all the little in's and out's. Here is the the problem. I bought a new 8Gb microSD card from Amazon.com ($36 great deal). When it came in the mail I put it in my phone right away. I checked that the card said 8Gb and checked what the BB was reading it as. It confirmed that the card was 8Gb. Now when I went to transfer my media I got an error message that said "Not enough space on media card" or something along those lines. So I did a format of the card on the BB. Afterwards, the BB was reading the card at 3.6Gb, as well as every other way I could check (opening the drive on my comp. while connected and checking properties, etc.) I also ran an error check and it returned nothing. So the question: does BB, by default, allocate space on the memory card during formats for other various purposes, such as emails and texts and voice recordings or programs? I don't think there is a glitch or a pin that has been damage in my bb or card, respectively, because the simple fact that it read the right size (~7.8Gb) when I first put in the card. Any suggestions/help is greatly appreciated.

Travis
    06-30-08 08:05 PM
    Check yur O/S version and see that it supports 8GB after the format it seems like the device might only support 4GB. Just a thought
    06-30-08 08:08 PM
    Welcome to CrackBerry Travis.

When I installed my media card, 2 Gb, there was a prompt to format it for mass storage. Since then, it is another drive on my computer.

You can verify the status in Options / Media Card. Media support and Mass Storage Mode should be On.

Enable when connected too.
    06-30-08 08:10 PM
    ok cool, I just bought it, wasn't sure if it would require an update yet. I guess checking is always good. I can do it here on this site right?

btw it is an 8320 if that is of any significance.
    06-30-08 08:11 PM