Okay, I know that this has been asked 29345234 times already in this forum, but I want to just clear the air once and for all.

I use Verizon and I cannot sent text messages to other phones that are over 160 characters (yes, I know that SMS stands for short message service, thank you). On my old phone with Verizon (LG Voyager), I was limited to 160 character message as well, BUT I could send 160+ messages to other Verizon customers (I think Verizon calls it "in" calling/texting). So, clearly, there is a slight possibility to send longer texts to at LEAST other Verizon customers. Better yet, is it possible to make an app (I'm no programmer myself) that:

1. Recognizes when I am typing a text that is over 160 characters.
    2. Upon hitting the "Send" button, this app will break the text (this is all handled on the BlackBerry itself) into smaller text messages that conform to standard SMS limits.
    3. Then, it will send out these individual texts, and the recipient will just receive 2+ text messages, depending on the length.

This is what I am really looking for, and if there is anything like it, I'd love to know. If someone knows of an app that just removes the character limit on the BlackBerry, theoretically, I'd be able to just send longer texts to Verizon customers, no?

I don't want to send an email; many of my friends have not linked their emails to their phones.
    I do not want to send a PIN; many of my friends do not have BlackBerries.
    I do not want to send an MMS; many of my friends have unlimited texting only, not media messaging.

Thanks.
    04-06-09 12:44 AM
    I'd advise your friends to get BlackBerrys. problem solved. hehe.

all jokes aside, i have been looking for something like this myself
    04-06-09 01:06 AM
    it rains on everyones roof
    if none of the other options work for you i.e. mms/email/pin, then i dont know what to tell you.. sounds like you need to find a friend that writes code..
    04-06-09 01:28 AM