Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 25 of 56
  1. Heart0's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Reset to Factory Settings?

    How do I reset my curve to factory settings...so that it is like brand new when I pulled it out of the box?
  2. sunkast's Avatar
    Super Bad

    Posts
    11,932 Posts
    Global Posts
    11,937 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Go to Options > Security > General > Press Menu > Wipe Handheld.
    Thanked by 2:
    lindzlu20 (11-19-2011),  Perezan (11-20-2010) 
  3. John Yester's Avatar
    Retired Superstar

    Posts
    11,290 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,483 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    A hard reset and having your curve return to "factory state" are two different things. For a hard reset, you can pull out the battery while the phone is still on, leave it out for 30 seconds, and then put it in.

    This will erase all info on the BB

    For a wipe (start from scratch):

    Go to options>security options>general settings, and then hit menu. Go to wipe handheld and click


  4. thecurveforlyfe's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    330 Posts
    PIN
    Pm me
    #4  

    Default


    If you've updated your BB to an unofficial Os downgrade then do a wipe. Options>secuity>general setting>wipe.


    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  5. Crucial_Xtreme's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    9,119 Posts
    Global Posts
    9,184 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Go to Options>Security Options>General Settings>Menu>Wipe Handheld. That will put it into out of the box condition.

    Edit: wow, when I typed this, nobody had replied yet. lol...Gotta love CB.
  6. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Options / Security Options / General Settings / Menu / Wipe Handheld

    This will remove everything you've put on the BlackBerry, except for OS upgrades. If you've upgraded the OS, you'll have to use JL_Cmder to wipe that, then reinstall an OS. If you haven't installed a newer OS, and you'd know it if you did it, then the Wipe is fine. Be sure you backup your contacts, etc first. They will all be removed, as will any themes, programs, etc that you've installed.
  7. Heart0's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #7  

    Default

    You guys are wonderful!! Thank you so much!! :-)
    Anita
  8. AssortedHippo's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,482 Posts
    PIN
    4.5.0.102(139)
    #8  

    Default

    Glad this post was here. Thanks for the advice.
  9. theebookzoo.com's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    2 Posts
    #9  

    Default reset help!!!

    Hello...

    I have a 7100i... I had the Enterprise Server Option put on via my company. Which forced me to have a password. I upgraded my phone and so I am going to sell the 7100i, but, even when I do a Wipe on it, it does not take the password option off, (wont let me disable it), nor will it clear out my companies information in the policy (in the General Settings). I need help quickly!!
  10. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #10  

    Default

    You have two choices. The best is to get your employer's IT dept to remove the IT Policy. If they can't or won't, then you can perform the steps in this procedure: http://forums.crackberry.com/f2/remo...y-phone-81401/
    Last edited by JeffH; 01-22-2009 at 11:47 PM. Reason: typo
  11. rangerdavid's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    68 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    great stuff on here for lots of folks
  12. aerophage's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    5,384 Posts
    Global Posts
    5,385 Global Posts
    PIN
    Ten of them makes a frame
    #12  

    Default

    I find the 12-3.5-00 method works pretty well too for wiping the information off a berry...

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  13. BBGirl8310's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    12 Posts
    #13  

    Default

    I have an 8310 and I want to do a wipe, got a little nervous about doing it: I got a message that my applications data will be lost message service and other services will be turned off.. So will I need to take it back to the service provider to get it back working? New to blackberry
  14. pitcher453's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    23 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    im curious how to actually restore the handheld to factory everything.. for example, my blackberry 8520 im trying to sell and get rid of is still receiving my hotmail email. i deleted the service books for the email which has worked in the past but this time even with every service book deleted its still receiving them. wiping handheld doesnt affect this. what do i do.
  15. RamblinMan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    I saw somewhere that the "Wipe" option displayed above removes all data from the device but does not actually perform a hard reset to factory default.

    To hard reset to factory default, they said to gold down the <alt>-<shift>-<del> buttons all at the same time (yes, it takes some doing) and that hard resets to factory default)

    Anyone know about this?
  16. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RamblinMan View Post
    I saw somewhere that the "Wipe" option displayed above removes all data from the device but does not actually perform a hard reset to factory default.

    To hard reset to factory default, they said to gold down the <alt>-<shift>-<del> buttons all at the same time (yes, it takes some doing) and that hard resets to factory default)

    Anyone know about this?
    Alt-R.Shift-Del simply reboots the phone, analogous to Ctrl-Alt-Del on a PC. It doesn't wipe or delete anything.
  17. anon_lynx's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    #17  

    Exclamation Blackberry Reset to Factory Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sunkast View Post
    Go to Options > Security > General > Press Menu > Wipe Handheld.

    That is NOT how to Reset to Factory Default. That is how to perform a Security Wipe, which is not the same. The Security Wipe procedure does NOT erase configurations and settings, only data.

    The answer is: loader.exe /resettofactory
    See article KB18998 at the BlackBerry Technical Solution Center
    blackberry.com/btsc
  18. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #18  

    Default

    While anon lynx is close, even loader.exe /resettofactory doesn't truly return your device to the "Factory Out Of the Box" configuration, because it doesn't restore your original OS. That never used to be an issue, but with the terrible OS upgrades being released by some carriers, and the proliferation of hybrids of all sorts, it really would be convenient to be able to push one button and get your device back to a known good state. Unfortunately it just isn't that simple.
  19. sickboy719's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    345 Posts
    Global Posts
    347 Global Posts
    #19  

    Default

    I had to do this yesterday so I could reprovision my old 8330 to give to my daughter.

    First you need your MSL code. Call your carrier, find it somehow. Not sure how to find it muself, got it from Sprint

    Once you have it, wipe the device.

    Then, after it reboots go to the phone screen, dial ##RTN and hit send like you're making a call.

    On the screen that pops up, enter the MSL.

    When it reboots, it should say "Activation Required"

    Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
  20. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sickboy719 View Post
    ...First you need your MSL code. ...
    What you are describing is unlocking your phone. That has nothing whatsoever to do with restoring a phone to its factory out of the box condition.
  21. sickboy719's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    345 Posts
    Global Posts
    347 Global Posts
    #21  

    Default

    After doing that, its not unlocked, just ready to be activated on the network its locked to.

    But the phone number and associated email accounts are gone, like it was when I got it.

    Unless I'm mistaken about what "unlocking" means, I've always thought that was unlocking from carrier A and reprogramming for carrier B.
    Last edited by sickboy719; 05-14-2010 at 09:45 PM.
  22. jeffh's Avatar
    Retired Moderator

    Posts
    15,136 Posts
    Global Posts
    15,146 Global Posts
    #22  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sickboy719 View Post
    After doing that, its not unlocked, just ready to be activated on the network its locked to.

    But the phone number and associated email accounts are gone, like it was when I got it.

    Unless I'm mistaken about what "unlocking" means, I've always thought that was unlocking from carrier A and reprogramming for carrier B.
    Thanks for clarifying; I missed your point on first reading. Using the MSL to remove your phone number is a good suggestion. Your understanding of unlocking is correct.
  23. reclary's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #23  

    Default

    I have a 9630 and having quite a tough time with it...

    I pulled the battery out for the first time in about a month and when rebooting the loading screen stops about 3/4ths of the way for many days now. I have tried plugging it into my computer, and the desktop manager is showing that my device is disconnected. I have tried everything including upgrading my USB port on the computer, to no avail.

    I then plugged it into my girlfriend's mac, installed the desktop manager, and it is recognizing it but says that "there is no blackberry device software on this device" It lists 4 different versions, and I click on version 5.0 but still gets stuck on the loading screen!

    I tried the method of the alt+shift+delete method, that didn't work either.

    Please help me out, this has been going on for about a week and I am so fed up with this damn phone right now cause i have put in some serious time into trying to fix it
  24. canadagirl79's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #24  

    Default

    i need assistance..

    i stupidly downloaded the newer version of msn messenger and I HATE it...i want to get the old one back which is v.2.1.4.8 is there anyone to get it back or do i need to restore my phone? if i do a restore, will it put the original msn back on there
  25. shezahotrod's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    #25  

    Default

    does this wipe my saved messages and all
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions