Hello, I'm new to the blackberry world and I've been downloading applications and trying them out and deleting them. I've had some memory problems and have gotten it back up to 10 MB after deleting stuff and doing battery pulls etc. I have one program (blackberry tipper) that will not delete, no matter what i do. I think the memory is still too low and I would like to do a wipe and start fresh. but my questions are:

1. Do i have to connect to a computer to wipe the device? I use a mac and have yet to get pocketmac to work properly and I doubt it would even have the wipe function anyway.

2. Will i lose my contacts? and do i need to remove the media card and sim card?

any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
    02-06-09 09:24 AM
    Yes, you need to connect to a computer. I don't have a Mac, but it's fairly easy on the PC. A little research will probably help you figure out how to do it on a mac. Or, you could borrow some time on a PC

1) Follow these instructions to wipe your BB: How to wipe with JL Cmder
    2) BlackBerry 101: How to reload the operating system on a nuked blackberry

Oh, and be sure to check out Blackberry 101: How to free up memory on your blackberry smartphone
    Last edited by cae2685; 02-06-09 at 09:38 AM.
    02-06-09 09:36 AM
    I have wiped blackberries without connecting them to PCs by going to options > security options > general settings. Then hit the BB Menu button and choose "wipe handheld."
    02-06-09 09:38 AM
    Does that wipe the device, or just delete all user info and reset to factory settings? The steps I outlined above will COMPLETELY wipe the blackberry (including the operating system and EVERYTHING you have installed) and show you how to reinstall the operating system. A completely fresh start.
    02-06-09 10:02 AM
    It sounds like you are trying to wipe your device back to factory settings, not wipe the whole OS off the device.