Hi - hoping someone can please offer some advice, as the title says really I'm new to BlackBerry and have just bought a brand new Curve 8320 of ebay in the UK which is tied to Orange. The phone came with no SIM card and I would ultimately like to use this with my current T-Mobile SIM card provided through work which will allow me to push my works email to my phone as this is a service they have.

I've had a good read about unlocking these and specifically unlocking phones tied to Orange and it would appear that if you contact Orange it can take 3 months for them to release the unlock code - I also assume I would first need to purchase a SIM card from Orange - a Pay As You SIM is only �1 - would that be ok? This would at least allow me to use it as a phone only I guess.

Or is it possible to just take the phone to a shop that could unlock it then and there for a charge?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks - J.
    05-20-08 05:27 AM
    Hi and welcome to Crackberry.

T-Mobile in the UK have the cheapest service but you must have a monthly contract to obtain decent rates for data and email connections. If you try and do that with a PAYG SIM card it will cost you an arm and a leg.

Best thing to do is to cal T-Mobile and ask them for their monthly rates and also to call Orange and ask them about doing the same thing via PAYG.

To get your phone unlocked, will take a couple of days. Blackberrys need a special algorithm that needs to be calculated individually. To give you a reference point fo charges lok here Blackberry 8320 unlock; Unlock Blackberry Curve using unlock code by UnlockThatMobile.com. I have used these guys a few times and above all, they are reloiable and what they do works. They will also support you if things got wrong. Are they the rock bottom cheapest? I do not think so. I'd rather have something that works for a few bucks more.

God luck and come back here to ask more questions.
    05-20-08 06:40 AM