Hi there fellow crackberrians,

I am new to the BB world.

I currently own a storm and love it but want to see what else is out there. I have been fortunate to stumble across someone who wanted my old enV2 that I had used before the storm upgrade and is trading me a verizon curve 8330.

I am excited, but still kind of a BB noob, and unsure of the order of events. What should I do first?

Take the phone to Verizon and have them adjust it to my primary phone/phone number? Or should I upgrade the OS first? (won't have it till Friday so I'm not sure what OS it has currently) Is there a way to set the phone back to factory settings? I've never done anything like this so I am unsure of what I should do first since it's coming from a prior owner. I did upgrade my storm OS so I know how to do at least that. I haz learned!

Usually I've just used my phone upgrade and Verizon does the rest in store. This is my first un-verizon store bought phone that I want to test out and I'm not sure of how to do it to get it wiped clean and ready for my account.

I did use the search function, but being new to the 8330, I see that the newest OS is 4.7.0.77, is that still correct? I couldn't find a Link either to DL that OS, anyone have the verizon version? And should I do a full wipe (JL cmder) before upgrading the OS or just do the upgrade?

Sorry for so many questions, but I figured if anyone would know, it would be you guys! Thanks in advance for any help and relatively few flames as possible.

And I really will love you long time for any help! <3

/end wall of text
    /dance
    04-08-09 11:33 PM
    To restore original settings: options > security options >
    general settings > press menu > select Wipe Handheld.

Newest 8330 OS: http://forums.crackberry.com/f52/spr...nguage-146679/
    (Yes it will work on a VZW 8330) Doesn't matter when you do the upgrade

Edit: There are now two different 8330's now. If yours has an MEID