I am very new at using a blackberry, mine is the 8330. I began to receive these error messages about 2 weeks ago, expecting it to correct itself.

Will someone please help me to correct/repair this situation?

During the synchronization process, I receive Synchronization Error: �Intellisync Unable to read application data". I always receive this error along with an additional message (near the same record #516) stating, �Processing device address book records 516 of 523 records�

Thank you,
    [email protected]
    01-02-09 10:17 AM
    I had the same problem. Try this... it worked for me! I got it from blackberry forums, I can't post a link so I past it here:

Overview

When a BlackBerry smartphone synchronization fails, the cause of the failure can vary. To debug Intellisync� translation errors, examine the data provided in the PTTrace.log and tif.log synchronization log files. The tasks below describe how to turn on advanced synchronization logging and collect the information generated.

Summary of Tasks

1. Identify which organizer application is causing the synchronization to fail.
    2. Configure the iloptcfg.cfg file.
    3. Turn on ODSViewer logging (IBM� Lotus Notes� only).
    4. Synchronize the BlackBerry smartphone using the affected application to create the synchronization log files.
    5. Reconfigure the iloptcfg.cfg file.

Task 1 - Identify which organizer application is causing the synchronization to fail

Identify which organizer application is causing the synchronization to fail by synchronizing each application separately until the problem recurs. For instructions, see KB03069.

Task 2 - Configure the iloptcfg.cfg file

1. Open the iloptcfg.cfg file using Microsoft� Notepad. The file is in one of the following directories, depending on your operating system:

* Windows 98

C:\Program Files\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Intellisync

* Windows ME

C:\Windows\Application Data\Research in Motion\BlackBerry\Intellisync

* Windows 2000 or XP