Hey All,

I am new to the site and just got my BlackBerry 8320 Curve (TMo).

I have the Hotspot@Home service and I am a tech savvy person (computer engineer).

Anyways, I was wondering if there was some way to IM over WiFi on my Curve. I can call using UMA and get online using the Blackberry Web Browser, but TMo Blackberry Support said all IMs go thru the BlackBerry Service (and I do not wanna pay for the BB internet and email service).

Also, is there some way to check my personal email without the BB service.

All help is greatly appreciated!!
    05-27-08 11:30 AM
    You can use web based instant messaging. Likewise, if you want to check email, use the thin-client site from your email host. Kind of a waste to have the blackberry without the email service though (only $9.99/month)
    05-27-08 01:33 PM
    Welcome to CB z3bum has a point TMo has the cheapest bb plans out there.
    05-27-08 01:36 PM
    i agree its pretty much a waste if you have a bb and dont get the data plan
    05-27-08 01:40 PM
    BeeJive :: JiveTalk mobile messenger - instant messaging to go <-- IM over wifi, but not free, very highly recommended.
    05-27-08 01:43 PM
    Welcome to CrackBerry.

Sweet combination, UMA means unlimited voice and data, but without the BlackBerry plan.

There will be some limitations, but the Browser is quite capable. You will have to select a web based Email service. From there, you can set your POP account to screen and forward the high priority messages to your mobile account.

The big problem is likely to be third party applications. All the applications worth loading will require the BlackBerry infrastructure to initialize before they work. That may change in time, but be prepared to rule most of the cool stuff.
    05-27-08 03:55 PM
    BeeJive :: JiveTalk mobile messenger - instant messaging to go <-- IM over wifi, but not free, very highly recommended.