Greetings! I'm new to CB and new to the Blackberry in general, having gotten my first one this past Saturday (a Curve 8310 on ATT).

I really like the phone, but have been extremely disappointed in its ability to work with GMail.

Initially, the folks at the ATT store set me up with POP3 push email using my GMail account. Naturally this worked quite well, but I did not want to have to mark messages as read on both GMail and my blackberry, so I decided to try IMAP. IMAP is terrible. Yes, I get messages instantly, but everything else about it is dog slow and glitchy. Reconciliation is either slow or simply doesn't behave the way I would expect.

The thing that really confuses me is that before this I had a very basic non-smartphone (the Sony Ericsson W580i) that would do IMAP for GMail nearly perfectly. Messages would come in instantly, and whether I read new ones on the phone or in GMail, it would get marked as read on the other side in under five minutes. Moving messages in and out of my inbox also reflected perfectly on the phone in no time. Why can't the Blackberry, a far more advanced phone, do the same?

And the GMail mobile app is not working the way Google claims. They say that if it's in the foreground it'll check messages every five minutes, every 20 minutes in the background. Well, I've had it in the background all morning and it still doesn't know about the new email I can see sitting in my GMail inbox. Ideally I would just use the mobile GMail app. I'd much rather have the conversation view than a mess of emails in my inbox.

Sorry to sound so annoyed, but my whole life is in Google. I run my business through GMail. If I can't get it to work, I'm going to have to return this wonderful new phone.

Thanks for any help you can offer.
    07-29-08 11:50 AM