My friend broke his old blackberry curve, so he bought a new one on ebay. I'm not sure how he did it all, but he took the "meid" from the old one and had to put it in the new one. I guess he worked at least for calling, but he finally got a new one and gave this one to me to use for my phone. I'm worried to activate it because idk what'll happen.

Will the bbm or browser work? or are these special codes? I think he used his old blackberry meid thing, but I guess he could've used the one from his env touch before that. Will that mess something up? I know calling works but will an env touch mess with bbm? will it need a blackberry data plan? I don't want to activate this crazy phone if it'll screw me over, but I REALLY need it to work since I shattered my old phone
    04-03-10 12:24 AM
    He probably used his MEID to switch his phone number over. The MEID is burned into the phones hardware, i'm no expert but ive never heard of anyone changing their MEID.
    04-03-10 01:45 AM
    no no he definitely changed the meid. he said he plugged it in and had special software to rewrite it. im just worried of what thatll do when i activate it
    04-03-10 01:46 AM
    Take it to VZW. That's really odd that he would change that.
    04-03-10 01:55 AM
    well see... thats exactly what he told me not to do. i feel like he wasn't supposed to..

the way he explained it to me, he had a "broken" phone with a "working" meid. he bought a "working" phone with a "broken" meid. so he combined them. only i think the meid might not be a blackberries. so im scared.
    04-03-10 02:04 AM