When I purchased my 8330 the sales person told me that I could send text messages longer than the standard 160 characters. I was informed that I could simply type as long as I wanted and when the message was sent to customers outside of verizon it would just roll the text into a new message.

I have been unable to figure out how to do this and am also unable to send text messages over 160 characters to other verizon customers like I was able to do on my previous non-blackberry phone.

Can anyone please help me?

Posted from my CrackBerry at wapforums.crackberry.com
    05-04-09 10:57 AM
    I have no idea about texts being sent into a new message. You can make longer text messages using the MMS feature though. Not sure why you cant reply to messages that are long though unless you dont have MMS package?
    05-04-09 11:03 AM
    I am no expert, but it seems as though your sales person lied to you. I have read a lot about this issue on these forums and it seems as though every Verizon BlackBerry is limited to 160 characters for any SMS text.

The good news is that i just beta-tested a new application called Beyond160 which essentially does exactly what its name suggests. If one gets the "field full" message, he can go to the menu, click "Beyond160" and it will open a texting program that allows him to type as much as he wants. When the message is sent, it gets sent as multiple messages labeled (1/2), (2/2) or so on.
    05-04-09 11:19 AM
    See the MMS would be a could replacement to type longer messages but MMS opens as a webpage and it would be too much of a hassle

05-04-09 11:56 AM
    I am no expert, but it seems as though your sales person lied to you. I have read a lot about this issue on these forums and it seems as though every Verizon BlackBerry is limited to 160 characters for any SMS text.