Hi,

I've been using a Palm OS device for many years (currently 700p) and on Friday picked up a curve (verizon). There are several email issues that are pushing me to go back to the Treo unless there are solutions or workarounds; I'm hopeful some here may know.

1. Using BIS & imap - I can't get my full inbox, only the new messages appear. Is this the way it's designed?

2. Polling using BIS / imap takes place irregularly. I've seen it go for 15 minutes and for 4 minutes. I can't find any way to speed it up or it make it instant.

3. Can't get true imap functionality - when I delete on my curve the email is still in my inbox.

I'm sure these are easy to configure but I've looked through the forums and other areas and can't locate solutions.

Any suggestions?
    07-21-08 07:16 AM
    Hi there.

I'm new here myself and my curve is arriving in a few hours but my GF got a pearl on Friday so I've got to play around with the email on it. Basically BB use what is called Push email. They dont poll the IMAP server at certain intervals. What happens is when an email comes in it gets pushed to the device. You wont see the email that is already on the IMAP server, just the new ones that come in.

If you happen to use gmail you could always install the gmail app to see archived mail.

Also, when you delete an email you have an option to either delete it on the device or delete it from both the device and the server.
    07-21-08 07:26 AM
    this thread may be useful for ya...
    search for thread titled: gmail users - gmail app or bis push?
    (sorry, I can't post links yet)
    07-21-08 08:05 AM
    Hi there.

Also, when you delete an email you have an option to either delete it on the device or delete it from both the device and the server.
    Thanks Gabbott. Would you know where the options are to set this?