I had a blackberry curve 8330. Loved it! but tried to update the os via desktop manager and it said it failed to install the new firmware and something about a fatal error. It wiped out everything and left my BB pretty useless. I got a new one and now am afraid to use desktop manager with it because I am new to blackberries and feel it might do the same thing.....My question is: Is there a certain blackberry desktop manager software to use specifically for Blackberry Curve 8330? I just like to have all the right software so it don't screw up again...
    04-22-09 04:53 PM
    Try becoming a little more family with the phone before you try upgrading the OS. As far as specific software just for 8330 I don't believe there is.
    04-22-09 05:11 PM
    yes I agree with post #2 a 100%
    04-22-09 05:16 PM
    There isn't anything spectacular with the upgrade that I've seen. I agree, get used to the OS on it now.
    04-22-09 06:02 PM
    I had a blackberry curve 8330. Loved it! but tried to update the os via desktop manager and it said it failed to install the new firmware and something about a fatal error. It wiped out everything and left my BB pretty useless. I got a new one and now am afraid to use desktop manager with it because I am new to blackberries and feel it might do the same thing.....My question is: Is there a certain blackberry desktop manager software to use specifically for Blackberry Curve 8330? I just like to have all the right software so it don't screw up again...
    I would go ahead and get the DM on your computer. Use 4.6 without media manager. Get used to backing up your BB...it's easy and safe. When you are comfortable with this then you can graduate to other things, but run with the OS you have for now. Hopefully, it is a 4.5 version.
    04-22-09 06:16 PM
    thanks i_hiker.i will try that. all of you thanks for useful info as i am a newbie.
    04-22-09 06:30 PM