Hello, I'm a newbie CrackBerry, and was looking to see if anyone knew how to use the new BlackBerry 8300 (Curve) as a modem on a laptop?
    Any help would be appreciated thanks.
    06-25-07 01:38 AM
    I use my 7105T with t-mobile as a modem. The 8300 also has the ability to be used as a modem. T-mobile includes ththering in their unlimited data plan. However, other providers seem to charge extra. I might be wrong so check my info out. Blackberryfourm.com has the setup info, do a search.
    Setup on XP was a snap. Vista (my nnotebook runs on Vista Business) setup was a little different so i used trial and error until I got it to run.
    Perhaps someone can offer easy to understand instructions for the Vista setup?
    06-25-07 08:16 AM
    Tell us who your carrier is and we can help out a little more.
    06-25-07 09:27 AM
    I'll also like to know more about this too. I will check out BBForums soon, to see if they still have information on this as mentioned by BBmaan.

However, kasperapd, if you have any input on this that will be cool. My carrier is Cingular.
    06-25-07 09:49 AM
    With Cingular you have to pay an extra monthly fee to be able able to tether.
    06-25-07 11:07 AM
    Be careful what Cingular(AT&T) sells you when you buy a data plan. I called for a plan and specifically requested a tethering plan several times during the conversation with their associate. She sold me what she called the blackberry personal max-tethering for $39.99 per month. After a week of trying to get it to work I got on the live chat at AT&T and was told I had the wrong plan for tethering, That I needed the blackberry tethering plan for $59.99 per month. He hooked me up while I stayed online with him and lo and behold after he switched it, it connected right up. Now if you want text messaging and such it puts the plan at $74.99. I didn't but let him add pay per use messaging just in case.
    06-26-07 03:25 AM