Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
    CrackBerry Newbie

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Trying to upgrade a 9300 ( 3g ) to os 6 .. and having real problems

Hi there

I'm new to BB's so forgive me if this is a novice or heavily covered question.
    I'm used to installing os's on compooters but this is a first time on a mobile device.

I'm having few issue's despite ( I thought ) thoroughly following the instructions.
    I downloaded and ran the file called 9300M_PBr6.0.0_rel3106_PL6.6.0.248_A6.0.0.723_Pele phone

Found and deleted the both the VENDOR file's .. But I keep getting stuck.
    The phone is a curve 9300 ( 3g ) I have security wiped it and unlocked it ( mep code )
    I really would like the new OS on-board.

I keep getting as far as this screen and I either haven't read properly or I'm doing something wrong.
    I can click it ADD... and it wants a file ? which I can't locate.

“The BlackBerry Desktop Software does not have BlackBerry Device Software for the device that you have connected to the computer” appears when an attempt is made to update BlackBerry Device Software

I should add that it is a T-Mobile 9300 and I'm using windows 7, I tried taking off all BB software including Desktop Manager..
    Shut-down RE-started .. then installed the ... A6.0.0.6 68 version ...
    Deleted the Vendor, file ..emptied the trash can.

Still the same screen....it's very frustrating.

I have just discovered it has No GPS settings anywhere in the menu's and no Maps features of any kind ( I'm not sure if this is relevant )

The installed O.S. reads.

Vendor ID : 123
    Platform: 6.3.0.23
    App Version: 5.0.0.794 (1345)

I'm guessing the hobbled maps is part of the T-mobile build. but I'm unsure if that would make it un-up-gradable.
    I would attempt to wipe the Whole O.S. off altogether but I'm afraid of ending up with an unusable brick..