Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. Hazza21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default HELP! Firmware/OS help please!

    Hello A friend gave me a blackberry curve 9300, and its unlocked from vodafone and my tesco sim card works, but I can't recieve or 'send' calls or texts... I've read up that some service providers also have a seperate lock on the phone via the OS, and in order to 'unlock' this, I had to reflash the firmware by up/downgrading the firmware or updating to a new OS from a different service. Now I downgraded to the standard OS 5 but still nothing (this must have been just a downgrade, but still with the vodafone OS), and because Tesco is also with O2 I thought I would download the O2 UK OS and update from there, but RIM asks me for a load of business info? Like my business name and job title? I'm just a kid, and I don't have that info! I've read on forums to 'make it up' but I hate doing that and there is no alternate downlaod links to the O2 UK software...
    Please help! Thank you
    Harry
  2. SwitchBeach's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,733 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,146 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Loading the OS from another carrier will not "unlock" the device. Have you checked to see if it is locked? When you go to Options > SIM Card and type mepd, what does it read next to "Network". If it reads "Active", then it is locked and you need to purchase an unlock code. Just go into the Unlocking Forums and contact one of the vendors.
  3. Hazza21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default HELP! Firmware/OS help please!

    No it's all fully unlocked its just I can't receive call or texts :\ thank you anyway
  4. SwitchBeach's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,733 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,146 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    What does it read next to "Network" on that screen?
  5. Hazza21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    3 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default HELP! Firmware/OS help please!

    It says disabled... I've loaded the O2 OS onto it but whenever I try to call my home, it says 'no service is currently available' and when the device reboots its still shows the Vodafone logo :/ I'm starting to believe it has an MM6 lock on it where the phone has been reported stolen... Is there a way I can unlock that?
  6. SwitchBeach's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,733 Posts
    Global Posts
    3,146 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    It's always going to show the Vodafone logo. Again, loading a different carrier's OS release does not change anything like that.

    If it has an MM6 lock, then there is no way to unlock that.

    You should contact your carrier to have them check the IMEI and the PIN.

Similar Threads

  1. Help with os upgrade please!!!!
    By kgonzalez16 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-03-2011, 06:53 AM
  2. Need help installing OS 6! PLEASE HELP ME!
    By bloodlinebb in forum BlackBerry 6
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-21-2010, 06:52 PM
  3. I am an *****! Help with OS upgrades please.
    By msheaffer02 in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 11:50 PM
  4. 8310 OS HElp...Please
    By kckid12 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-23-2008, 12:25 PM
  5. Os Help Please
    By purpleberry218 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-01-2008, 08:27 AM

Posting Permissions