Hi All,

Here's my story.

I have been using company issued Curves for some five years now. Absolutely loved them, they allowed me to get things done in no time, couldn't fault them. Sturdy, small and light, good battery life after years of use. But as I needed to browse the web more often and do more non-work stuff, OS7 and sluggish performance finally weren't enough. To tip the scales, things have changed with my employer and I was handed a nice shiny... HTC One Mini 2. What an atrocity. I never even swapped the SIM card and kept using the old Curve, just without BES. Still perfectly usable, but with the browser crashing more often than displaying any websites, I decided to pull the trigger on the new Classic, return the HTC and try to get it reimbursed. Price difference was negligible.

So I got the phone yesterday ( I've now finished exploring it, I think). It's solid as a brick. I could easily defend myself with it. The keyboard is an absolute wonder. The screen is great and the square ratio works for me. But then I powered it on.

Before I start - I understand that OS10 is largely a rewrite on the new QNX foundation and is mostly a spiritual continuation of the previous OS. As to my background - I'm an IT engineer and my day job is testing high-end networking equipment and beating up vendors for no doing their QA right. As a side effect I help many vendors improve their products. I would describe myself much an old-school, deeply technical user, a very critical and demanding one, with a strong preference for keyboard navigation. At the same time I understand that making unreasonable requests is pointless and there are large frameworks, architectures and processes behind improving and developing a software or a hardware product. Many things are not simple to fix. But many are trivial.

Here are my observations so far and I'm wondering if I'm just asking for too much or is there an actual chance to put things right: