Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default UMA on unbranded Bold 9900

    Hi, sorry if this has been asked already but I've been trawling the net for the last few days and found nothing...
    I'm on orange UK. I want to upgrade to a bold 9900, but orange contract is too expensive. I've found the phone on p4u on the same call plan I'm on now. what I want to know is, if my SIM is orange, will os:7.1 enable me to make calls via WiFi/uma. my 9300 was from cpw on orange, and I got the uma to work via the engineering screens.
    I can't afford to pay more than 25 per mth.

    I need UMA at home as we have no receiption in the village for any carrier, despite what their signal coverage shows.. we are in a total mobile blackhole.

    Any help would be appreciated, and sorry for rambling.
    Sandie
  2. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    There is no UMA chip in the 9900, but an Orange UK SIM in any 9900 running OS7.1 should automatically enable the Wifi Calling feature without the need to mess in the escreens.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
    Thanked by:
    Sandie P (12-28-2012) 
  3. Sadsfan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    176 Posts
    Global Posts
    178 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    I bought an unbranded bold 9900 from phones 4u and it was on orange and I get uma, which is really useful. Setup is a doddle too as it's automatic.
    Thanked by:
    Sandie P (12-28-2012) 
  4. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #4  

    Default

    thank you both for your quick responses. I will get on to phones4u straight away.
    Sandie
  5. Sadsfan's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    176 Posts
    Global Posts
    178 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sandie P View Post
    thank you both for your quick responses. I will get on to phones4u straight away.
    Sandie
    No problem, hope it all goes well.
  6. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,267 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,272 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #6  

    Default

    You can set up UMA via the Escreen
    In the Engineering Screen Contents go to - Radio Engineerring Screens (3GPP) - 3GPP Radio Engineering Screens - Utilities - Session Maager - UMA Options - Menu - New. Enter the values
    UMA on unbranded Bold 9900-screencapture.png


    UMA on unbranded Bold 9900-screencapture_001.png

    But as others have said its not the easiest option.... good luck
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
    Thanked by:
    Sandie P (12-28-2012) 
  7. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    There is no UMA on the 9900, it's Wifi Calling... similar, but different
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  8. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,267 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,272 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #8  

    Default

    Wonder why the 9900 has a UMA profile if it does not exist? Confusing!
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
  9. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #9  

    Default

    phones4u are playing around.. I need a credit check so contacted cpw to see if they'd match the deal as my current phone contract was from them!! let's see what happens!!
  10. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,267 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,272 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #10  

    Default

    And when you get your 9900 check out the BL hybrids...xmas editon... it is sweet
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
  11. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #11  

    Default

    :$ sorry, although I've had a BB for 2 years I'm still a total novice :s what's bl hybrid?
  12. Red_Berry_21's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,420 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,726 Global Posts
    PIN
    ask for it ;)
    #12  

    Default

    I'd also like to know what a hybird too
  13. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deani24 View Post
    I'd also like to know what a hybird too
    It's a HYBRID and you've already been told what one is... http://forums.crackberry.com/blackberry-bold-9930-9900-f235/shud-u-upgrade-my-software-not-im-stuck-757053/#post7769780
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  14. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #14  

    Default

    got my new phone.. just spent the last hour and half trying to get all my stuff transfered from my old phone. and it keeps rebooting itself!! also some of my apps havent transferred across.. With me being one of those 'special' people who struggles with my own stuff but can work out other peoples stuff, this is gonna be a long day!!! wish me luck
  15. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,267 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,272 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #15  

    Default

    Well done and welcome. You might find that some apps will not work on the 9900! Get back when ya ready for the hybridisation do
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
  16. Sandie P's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    7 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #16  

    Default

    touch wood, everything seems to be working.. gonna wait till I swap SIM cards before I look at the hybrid stuff. thanks all for your help.. I know where to come with any questions, and problems, now xxx

Similar Threads

  1. T-Mobile: UMA on BlackBerry BOLD 9900
    By naviwilliams in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 58
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 10:06 AM
  2. UMA on Tmobile Bold?
    By Jkilla in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 06:01 PM
  3. VVM on Unbranded Bold
    By Jino in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 09:03 PM
  4. uma on unlocked bold
    By pauliewalnutted in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 02:05 PM
  5. T-Mobile UMA on the BOLD
    By xaveon in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-14-2009, 04:56 PM

Posting Permissions