Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By groenewald2010
  • 1 Post By Deanig_12
  • 1 Post By BigBadWulf
  1. groenewald2010's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Switching from Edge to 4G on a South African Bold 9900 with a Canadian SIM

    Hi all,

    Recently landed in Canada with my BB Bold 9900 from South Africa. In South Africa at least I had 3G coverage now only Edge. Went to one of the local cellphone shops and they spoke something about frequencies that is different between South Africa and Canada. Apparently one can not change this ? Is there a way that I can "unlock" the phone for 4G in Canada without procurring a new phone ?

    Thanks for the assistance.
    android2bb10 likes this.
  2. Deanig_12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,440 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,787 Global Posts
    PIN
    ask for it ;)
    #2  

    Default

    youll have to get an unlocking code of the net if you want the phone unlocked to put a new sim in but be carefull some are scams really :/
  3. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #3  

    Default

    Ignore the above guess.
    What you were told originally about the different frequencies is correct, and there IS nothing you can do about it.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  4. android2bb10's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    22 Posts
    #4  

    Default Re: Switching from Edge to 4G on a South African Bold 9900 with a Canadian SIM

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    Ignore the above guess.
    What you were told originally about the different frequencies is correct, and there IS nothing you can do about it.
    Phil, what if he tried different carriers? Or are all Canadian GSM carriers on the same frequency?

    And, welcome to the Frozen North my bra.
  5. Deanig_12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,440 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,787 Global Posts
    PIN
    ask for it ;)
    #5  

    Default

    i was only trying to help phill no nee be so rude i thought he was on about unlocking his phone :S
    android2bb10 likes this.
  6. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by android2bb10 View Post
    Phil, what if he tried different carriers? Or are all Canadian GSM carriers on the same frequency?
    That is an option.
    The South African 9900 models have 3G bands 1, 4 & 8 which would work fine on Canadian AWS carriers like Wind Mobile or Mobilicity, but to get 3G on the GSM carriers like Bell, Rogers or Telus you would need a 9900 with 3G bands 1, 2, 5 & 6.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  7. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deani24 View Post
    i was only trying to help phill no nee be so rude i thought he was on about unlocking his phone :S
    Your enthusiasm to help is admirable Dean, but sometimes it's better to sit back rather than give misinformation.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  8. Deanig_12's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,440 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,787 Global Posts
    PIN
    ask for it ;)
    #8  

    Default

    well i thought he was on about unlocking the phone my bad but still no need to be rude :/ im not rude to you :S
  9. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    36,513 Posts
    Global Posts
    36,543 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #9  

    Default

    I've seen Phill rude

    That wasn't it.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Zee - Cue Warrior ..``..``..``..``.. Born to  ..``..``..``..``.. BBOS Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
    Phill_UK likes this.

Similar Threads

  1. 8530 Keeps Switching from EDGE to GSM
    By GTP88 in forum BlackBerry Curve 85xx
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-07-2010, 08:32 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 01:34 PM
  3. Sprint Tour on T-Mobile switches from EDGE to edge
    By deathmate in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-12-2009, 02:29 AM
  4. Switching from Palm to BB on Sprint
    By Bri2e in forum General BlackBerry Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-11-2009, 06:43 PM
  5. switching from 3G to 2G on AT&T, icon question
    By dictoresno in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 04:32 AM

Posting Permissions