Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
    CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

Default Question from Blackberry noob

I am total noob when it comes to blackberry phones because I got my first BB 2 days ago; it is bold 9900 and I am loving it. I want few things out of this device I am currently not able to do:
    I want to be able to go online via 3G network and receive my emails same way. I live in Bosnia and Herzegovina and I am using prepaid from my carrier. It includes data plan, but when I enter APN information on my device it still is not able to connect to internet. Does my plan have to be BlackBerry specific? Is there way I can enter those information and go online like I did with iPhone and Android and Symbian phones I used to have?
    CrackBerry User

PIN
    Ask...

You have to have BlackBerry Internet Service (Data Plan for BlackBerries) to recive e-mails, use the BB browser, apps and much more... with a regular data plan you have to install another browser ie. Opera, then you can go online and check your e-mails (like on a comp.) but you wont get any notifications.
    Without BIS your BlackBerry is pretty much a very expencive and fancy yet regular old-school cellphone with internet (if other browser is installed)
    Contact your carrier and ask for BIS, you might still be able to have prepaid on your contract.

"The BlackBerry, the little shiny BlackBerry rocks. Because it's the first thing that
    I do in the morning and the last thing I do at night. I think it crawled underneath this
    piece of skin, in the back of my head, and laid babies, there's gonna be baby blackberries!"

CrackBerry User

Thread AuthorThread Author   #3