Results 1 to 12 of 12
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Phill_UK
  1. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default Newbie + Need Help ASAP please :)

    Hello Newbie here from South Africa

    I want to buy a 2 month old BlackBerry Bold 9900 from someone as I'm in the UK and it's about 3x cheaper than those in RSA.

    I already own a 9780 and love it so I don't need any of that. My question for you experts is:
    I will need it to work on VodacomSA when I get home so I can use BBM and AppWorld. Is this possible? If. Or how do I unlock the phone so I can use it on SA Vodacom. The person who owns it said it was O2 UK if that helps. Will it work the same as my Bold I bought in SA or will it be slower or something similar?

    Pleaaseeee I really want this phone so I hope it works other than me wasting 2k on a BB I can't use.
    Thanks
  2. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default

    I'm pretty certain Vodacom SA uses 900MHz GSM and 2100MHz UMTS frequencies, so you maybe ok with an O2 UK 9900. Best thing to do is to check the 3G bands of your current 9780, and make sure your new phone has the same bands. Just go to Options > Device > About Device Versions and check there.

    If your 9780 has 3G bands 1, 4 & 8 then you will probably be safer getting a Vodafone UK 9900 that has the same bands, as the O2 9900 has 3G bands 1, 2, 5 & 6. Obviously which ever phone you get will need unlocking first before you can use it.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  3. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    I'm pretty certain Vodacom SA uses 900MHz GSM and 2100MHz UMTS frequencies, so you maybe ok with an O2 UK 9900. Best thing to do is to check the 3G bands of your current 9780, and make sure your new phone has the same bands. Just go to Options > Device > About Device Versions and check there.

    If your 9780 has 3G bands 1, 4 & 8 then you will probably be safer getting a Vodafone UK 9900 that has the same bands, as the O2 9900 has 3G bands 1, 2, 5 & 6. Obviously which ever phone you get will need unlocking first before you can use it.
    Thanks alot for your quick answer.

    My BB has the 3G bands 1,4,8. Does this mean I cannot use the BB 9900 which the seller has? Is there any way that I can use my SA Sim in this 9900 or is it a no-no? That would be very sad
  4. BigwhiteUK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,231 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,236 Global Posts
    PIN
    24CA5D48 PB pin 502763C8
    #4  

    Default

    Also check it hasnt been reported lost or stolen...... see it working first
    9300, 9900, Z10, Z30 . PlayBook 64GB. Nexus 7 v2 Kit Kat
  5. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #5  

    Default

    I don't have it yet. The seller still has it as I am scared it may not work in SA

    So if the bands are different is there no way to change them or use the phone with the wrong bands?
  6. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    It should work ok on 3G as both devices have 3G band 1 (2100MHz), but I can't say for sure. Sorry.
    A Vodafone UK 9900 will definitely work though, as it also has 3G bands 1, 4 & 8.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  7. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahmed777 View Post
    So if the bands are different is there no way to change them or use the phone with the wrong bands?
    Unfortunately not.
    The bands are hardware and can't be changed, and if they're incompatible with your network you won't get 3G.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  8. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default

    So what can I do if I buy it and it doesn't work in SA? Is there any way to change the bands?
    do you know where I can get a Vodafone UK BB 9900 for under 200 pounds?
    How do I unlock the phone for free?

    Thanks alot for the help thus far
  9. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahmed777 View Post
    So what can I do if I buy it and it doesn't work in SA? Is there any way to change the bands?
    do you know where I can get a Vodafone UK BB 9900 for under 200 pounds?
    How do I unlock the phone for free?
    1) It will work, it just might not work on 3G
    2) No
    3) eBay?
    4) Try the Unlocking Forum on here
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  10. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default

    Ok thanks alot. Besides Vodafone uk are there any other carriers that have the same as them (1,4,8)

    Thanks
  11. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ahmed777 View Post
    Ok thanks alot. Besides Vodafone uk are there any other carriers that have the same as them (1,4,8)
    Not in the UK, but T-Mobile USA devices use the same bands.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
    Red_Berry_21 likes this.
  12. Ahmed777's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default

    Ok so you recommend buying the phone or going on eBay and looking for one?

Similar Threads

  1. need help asap please reply
    By megan1987 in forum BlackBerry Curve 8350i
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-28-2009, 09:58 PM
  2. Need Help Asap Please Black Screen
    By djeli in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-18-2009, 09:24 AM
  3. Need Help ASAP please...
    By thismonsterlives in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 36
    Last Post: 01-21-2009, 12:59 PM
  4. Need help ASAP!! Please!
    By kittycatspawz in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-01-2008, 03:35 PM
  5. new to the bb! I need help asap please!!!
    By vonniedidit in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-27-2008, 01:36 PM

Posting Permissions