My son lost his Moto X and I bought him a 9900. $22, looks brand new. Works perfectly, from what I can tell. That said, he needs an android device for some of the apps he runs for school (THAT would have been nice to know!) and I figured, why not? I used to love my work BlackBerry! I'll keep it!

Ew.

I want to like it. I love the size and form factor, I love the keyboard (best thing about a BB) and the screen is lovely and sharp, if a little small.

What can't I do?

1.) Navigate easily still kinda new to town and I miss Google, inaccuracies and all. The built in app is bloody awful. Google Maps crashes the browser.

2.) Get into my ProtonMail account. No app, never will be, and the browser is lacking security features their code needs.

3.) Use a 64GB card. Okay, yeah. Now I am just whining. I don't really need a 64GB card.

So those 2 things. As I am just getting started I haven't dug too deeply, but thought I'd start here with noob questions. Anyone have ideas about #1 and #2 above?
    09-26-16 03:00 PM
    Just wondering why you would get an older OS based device. You would have had better luck purchasing a BB10 OS device.

Having said that, if he had a previous Android device, and liked it ... why didn't you just buy him a cheap Android device. It is my understanding (sorry, I don't use Android), that these devices are cheap to come by. So why switch him to the out-dated BBOS. If it had to be a BlackBerry, should have went with the BB10 OS. If it didn't have to be BlackBerry, you should have went with another Android device.

Good news though ... if it is in MINT condition, like you said it was, you should sell it to Kim Kardashian because she was looking hard to find the old BlackBerry Bold devices and it seems that stock is running out.
    09-26-16 03:11 PM
    Sorry but a 9900 is five years old, and running an OS that was pretty much EOL the day BlackBerry announced work on the "new" (now also EOL BB10 os).

#1 Use BlackBerry maps