Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 2345678 ... LastLast
Results 101 to 125 of 333
Like Tree78Likes
  1. dimm0k's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,242 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,304 Global Posts
    #101  

    Default

    "memory leak"... a memory leak is when the device runs out of memory because the memory keeps dropping until there is no more left. losing 50mb while you still have 50mb remaining doesn't necessarily mean it's a leak.
    Rockin' PlayBook 2.1.0.1526 bridged with the Bold 9930 7.1.0.1033

    My 9630 theme: dimm0k's V1 theme
  2. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #102  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimm0k View Post
    losing 50mb while you still have 50mb remaining doesn't necessarily mean it's a leak.
    It does... that missing 50MB is the memory leak.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  3. dimm0k's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,242 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,304 Global Posts
    #103  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    It does... that missing 50MB is the memory leak.
    No... a leak implies that it will keep leaking until there is no more to leak from. If 50MB drops, it's possible that it's used for cache or whatever for an app. Look at the stats in Windows' task manager if you don't believe me. The "free memory" also drops the longer you stay in Windows...
    Rockin' PlayBook 2.1.0.1526 bridged with the Bold 9930 7.1.0.1033

    My 9630 theme: dimm0k's V1 theme
  4. Paquette Marc Andre's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    #104  

    Default

    Playbook BlackBerry
  5. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #105  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimm0k View Post
    No... a leak implies that it will keep leaking until there is no more to leak from. If 50MB drops, it's possible that it's used for cache or whatever for an app.
    Memory leak is anything that leaks from your free memory during use, and doesn't automatically recover while idle until a battery pull is done.
    My 'leak' is usually between 0MB and 1MB which is nothing really. 50MB would really have me worried!

    That's Phill with 2 L's
  6. dimm0k's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,242 Posts
    Global Posts
    1,304 Global Posts
    #106  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    Memory leak is anything that leaks from your free memory during use, and doesn't automatically recover while idle until a battery pull is done.
    My 'leak' is usually between 0MB and 1MB which is nothing really. 50MB would really have me worried!

    http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/01/19/epuhabyv.jpg
    By the very definition of leak, a leak would mean that it would keep on leaking... not just stop at 50MB or 1MB. If an app were to say consume 50MB it is firstly a poorly written app. If it continues to consume your remaining memory until a reboot is required then it is a leak.
    Rockin' PlayBook 2.1.0.1526 bridged with the Bold 9930 7.1.0.1033

    My 9630 theme: dimm0k's V1 theme
  7. slasher0079's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    37 Posts
    #107  

    Default

    Is the wake up from stand by screen bug fixed?
    Sm tym it takes a min to get the display lights on once the bb is locked
  8. falena1122's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    114 Posts
    Global Posts
    143 Global Posts
    #108  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimm0k View Post
    By the very definition of leak, a leak would mean that it would keep on leaking... not just stop at 50MB or 1MB. If an app were to say consume 50MB it is firstly a poorly written app. If it continues to consume your remaining memory until a reboot is required then it is a leak.
    if that so, we shouldnt say if somebody has a big memory leak of not, because as you said, leak means no more memory left...anyway i think memory leak is when you loose memory(because of an app, or whatever) and you dont regain it back...doesnt have to be the full memory....
    so maybe Phill has a point....correct me if im wrong
    Red_Berry_21 likes this.
  9. Berryza.com's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    39 Posts
    PIN
    284428D5
    #109  

    Default

    I'm facing same problem with this update as well I can't find 2G only 3G and 2G+3G anybody have solution ??? the only update I can find the 2G is OS 7.1.0.342
    Latest News, Applications, Themes and Games From BerryZA
    South Africa's First Blackberry Community
    Questions? Please ask via
    twitter @_BerryZA_
    BBM: 284428D5
  10. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #110  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Berryza.com View Post
    I'm facing same problem with this update as well I can't find 2G only 3G and 2G+3G anybody have solution ??? the only update I can find the 2G is OS 7.1.0.342
    Many carriers are blocking this option on newer OS builds. Unfortunately there's nothing you can do about it, except downgrade to the last OS version it was still available on.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  11. Rootbrian's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    12,219 Posts
    PIN
    Optional, but not needed.
    #111  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legal Eagle View Post
    Any chance of this one being leaked any time soon ???
    That's 7.1.0.682.
    Flamers, don't even try, I have my waterhose ready
    GNU/Linux distros of choice: Ubuntu, Mint (or anything based on debian that's still geared towards beginners and isn't too bloated).

    My Tweets, Wordpress Blog, My Statuses, My Formspring.me & Videos (Viddler), (Dailymotion), (YouTube Partner channel)
  12. sbx9900's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    753 Posts
    #112  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dimm0k View Post
    By the very definition of leak, a leak would mean that it would keep on leaking... not just stop at 50MB or 1MB. If an app were to say consume 50MB it is firstly a poorly written app. If it continues to consume your remaining memory until a reboot is required then it is a leak.
    My 50MB leak is just within 24 hours after I did the OS installation. It does not stop at 50MB but continues to lose memory until I do a reset or a battery pull. Since my restart this morning, around 10AM, I have lost 6MB after about 4 hours.

    The question is, why do i lose about 50MB in 24 hours while Phill loses only 0.3MB in 17 hours? (as per screen shot above). Does wiping the phone before OS installation prevent the huge memory loss while it is not unavoidable? or is it just the apps that I use regularly - BeBuzz, BeWeather, Hookt messenger, Facebook, BBM. There are other apps installed but they are not used on a regular basis.
  13. rolandow's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    8 Posts
    #113  

    Question

    Interesting topic. I have never updated my O.S. other than through the regulat channel. I used the update function on my phone, a few weeks ago.

    I have Vodafone NL, so can I use this O.S. as well? Are there any risks? (Since this is the official OS, I would say there isn't much of a risk). On the other hand, if it's official, why isn't it available for me yet? I am at version 7.1.0.714, so it feels as if I'm far behind :-)

    The main reason for an upgrade for me would be if the Google calendar sync is improved. Because GooSync doesn't work anymore, I switched to "normal" calendar sync, and a lot of entries were duplicated. Also I cannot see/sync my shared calendars anymore. Would be nice if this was fixed in this version already.

    But well, my main question is, in fact: is this safe?

    (And regarding the installation guide: what is ment by installint the OS to my PC? Do I have an application on my PC after that, which could upgrade my BB?)
  14. Rootbrian's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    12,219 Posts
    PIN
    Optional, but not needed.
    #114  

    Default

    If the OS won't be detected by apploader, you need to delete vendor.xml files that you couldn't find. Ensure that "show hidden and system files", "hide protected system files" and "hide known file name extensions/types" are checked/unchecked to find them.

    Use Everything Portable fron c|net download.com to find them, but ensure the option to view hidden/protected system files is checked to show them. I use it to rid anything that prevents me from loading it up.
    Flamers, don't even try, I have my waterhose ready
    GNU/Linux distros of choice: Ubuntu, Mint (or anything based on debian that's still geared towards beginners and isn't too bloated).

    My Tweets, Wordpress Blog, My Statuses, My Formspring.me & Videos (Viddler), (Dailymotion), (YouTube Partner channel)
  15. slasher0079's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    37 Posts
    #115  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slasher0079 View Post
    Is the wake up from stand by screen bug fixed?
    Sm tym it takes a min to get the display lights on once the bb is locked
    Anyone?
  16. dangerousfen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,957 Posts
    PIN
    That's for me to know and you to guess!
    #116  

    Default Latest 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.825 from Vodafone DE

    Brian, download "vendelete" it gets rid of all traces of the vendor files without all that messing about.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    Do as you would be done by and 12 pence to the shilling (or 100 cents to the dollar).

    Into every life a little ale must pour
  17. dangerousfen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,957 Posts
    PIN
    That's for me to know and you to guess!
    #117  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slasher0079 View Post
    Anyone?
    I've never experienced that problem Slasher. No problem with this latest OS either.
    Do as you would be done by and 12 pence to the shilling (or 100 cents to the dollar).

    Into every life a little ale must pour
  18. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #118  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rootbrian View Post
    That's 7.1.0.682.
    No Brian... that's 7.1.0.862
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  19. Rootbrian's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    12,219 Posts
    PIN
    Optional, but not needed.
    #119  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    No Brian... that's 7.1.0.862
    Daamn! My vision must've been blurry and my dumbfunded way of not reading twice.
    Flamers, don't even try, I have my waterhose ready
    GNU/Linux distros of choice: Ubuntu, Mint (or anything based on debian that's still geared towards beginners and isn't too bloated).

    My Tweets, Wordpress Blog, My Statuses, My Formspring.me & Videos (Viddler), (Dailymotion), (YouTube Partner channel)
  20. Rootbrian's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius of Geniuses

    Posts
    12,219 Posts
    PIN
    Optional, but not needed.
    #120  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dangerousfen View Post
    Brian, download "vendelete" it gets rid of all traces of the vendor files without all that messing about.Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    Nearly forgot about that. I'll be grabbing it once I get the netbook back in operation.
    Flamers, don't even try, I have my waterhose ready
    GNU/Linux distros of choice: Ubuntu, Mint (or anything based on debian that's still geared towards beginners and isn't too bloated).

    My Tweets, Wordpress Blog, My Statuses, My Formspring.me & Videos (Viddler), (Dailymotion), (YouTube Partner channel)
  21. MrChiezy's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    241 Posts
    #121  

    Default

    if i back up te device and then whipe it, will i lose the pictures and mp3's on the device memory?
  22. go1ndr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,503 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,509 Global Posts
    #122  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by calicocat2010 View Post
    OH Believe me I HAVE deleted EVERY OTHER OS version on my computer, and the damn thing Still will NOT update.

    Edit- Somehow the Backup file is Corrupt and That's why it won't update. WHAT DO I DO!?!!! I don't have time to check Every thing manually in order to update.
    Not my typical forum (I'm mostly on 9810) but I just had a similar thing happen when doing an upgrade. What I learned is this (and I've done a lot of OS upgrades-sidegrades-downgrades, etc), after a number of upgrades your pc starts hiding files. Use Vendelete (download from CB or I can post link) to get rid of the Vendor.xml files first! Then go to your PC>Control Panel> Programs and features (install/uninstall) and UNINSTALL (not delete) all of the OS's you are not going to use this time. The only OS you want on the PC is the download you are about to put on your device. Going to the temp or download file and deleting the old OS's doesn't uninstall the actual program file, this has to be done through the control panel. Now to be fair, I had never done this before but I guess that the upgrades were each so much newer that it upgraded by date in the past, but not this last time. Once I uninstalled everything but the OS I was putting on my phone, AppLoader loaded it perfectly as always. Hope this helps and good luck--and thanks for letting me jump in on this subject--waiting patiently for this build to hit for the 9810 now!
  23. Legal Eagle's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    3,112 Posts
    #123  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by go1ndr View Post
    --waiting patiently for this build to hit for the 9810 now!
    Wait no longer !!!

    Latest 9810 Official OS 7.1.0.825 from Vodafone DE
    Bold 9900 on Vodafone UK running BL Ultimate Hybrid RC22 over Claro Argentina .1098 Base and .sfi

    If I've helped or amused you feel free to use the Liked or Thanked buttons
    Thanked by:
    go1ndr (01-18-2013) 
    Mecca EL and go1ndr like this.
  24. dangerousfen's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    1,957 Posts
    PIN
    That's for me to know and you to guess!
    #124  

    Default Latest 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.825 from Vodafone DE

    Quote Originally Posted by MrChiezy View Post
    if i back up te device and then whipe it, will i lose the pictures and mp3's on the device memory?
    No. It will not affect your memory card.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    Do as you would be done by and 12 pence to the shilling (or 100 cents to the dollar).

    Into every life a little ale must pour
  25. go1ndr's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    2,503 Posts
    Global Posts
    2,509 Global Posts
    #125  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Legal Eagle View Post
    Thanks Legal! I came, I saw, I believed and now I have to go on a business trip, but will upgrade as soon as I get back--all smiles
    Maybe 7.2 is just around the corner!
Page 5 of 14 FirstFirst ... 2345678 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Latest 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.794 from China Unicom
    By rroyy in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 254
    Last Post: 02-06-2013, 03:28 PM
  2. Latest 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.714 from Telenor Serbia
    By rroyy in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 83
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 08:50 AM
  3. Latest 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.714 from O2 Ireland
    By greg_z in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 04:51 PM
  4. Bold 9900 Official OS 7.1.0.714 from Vodafone Romania
    By cobracam in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-04-2012, 03:16 AM
  5. Latest 9810 Official OS 7.0.0.540 from Vodafone Ireland
    By bospol in forum BlackBerry Torch 9810
    Replies: 171
    Last Post: 12-11-2011, 09:17 PM

Posting Permissions