Hi all,

Not sure this problem has been reported before, but it's one that rendered my 9900 essentially useless so I figured its worth sharing. I don't think this fits the definition of a "bricked" or "nuked" berry, but then again I'm a novice at all of this.

Story: My phone was working fine yesterday morning and next time I checked (around noon yesterday), none of the keys were working (this includes the trackpad button, menu, back, and start/end call buttons, and the entire keyboard). The touchscreen is also not functioning properly (I have patternlock and it wouldn't let me input my pattern to unlock the phone).

Steps I've taken so far (all unsuccessful):
    - numerous battery pulls
    - upgraded from 7.1.0.190 to 7.1.0.205 (thought it might be a software issue)
    - downgraded to 7.0.0.540 (thought it might be a 7.1 issue).

Has anybody experienced anything like this before? Any suggestions?
    01-25-12 12:43 PM
    Haven't experienced that before. Have you gotten it wet? Tried a battery pull? Also, if it's under warranty, exchange it.
    mangofed likes this.
    01-25-12 03:57 PM
    It definitely didn't get wet since it was in my pocket from the time it was working to the time it stopped. I think I'm going to get it replaced since it's only a month old, but it'd still be great if I could figure out what went wrong. I'd hate to have it happen again.
    01-25-12 04:39 PM
    did you by any chance dropped it or someone else somehow?
    maybe the ribbon cable from the keyboard that is attached on the motherboard became loose inside.
    well kinda strange, when it just suddenly stopped working. it's not normal like that.
    could better go for the exchange to be safe, or you could check out yourself by opening it & see if the cable is loose.
    I don't think I dropped it because it was just in my pocket the whole time.