I have been using bb 9900 (att) for 12-13 months
    I originally transferred contacts from previous bb device to 9900 using BlackBerry Protect and have never needed to use the BB Desktop Software
    Today, I decided to download the BlackBerry Desktop Software (7.1.0.37) to sync BB contacts with Outlook (2010); I am using an HP PC with Windows 7 that I purchased 12-15 months ago

1. I downloaded BB Desktop Software from here: https://swdownloads.blackberry.com/Downloads/contactFor......
    2. When prompted I connected my BB device using the USB cable that came with the phone and that I use daily for charging
    3. The phone immediately went to the alarm clock screen, acknowledging that it was connected; however, nothing ever happened with the already opened BlackBerry Desktop Software screen
    4. I powered down the PC and restarted
    5. I tried the device/USB plug into each of the computer's 4 USB ports with identical results (phone acknowledged that it was plugged in but device was not recognized by Desktop Software)
    6. I uninstalled and reinstalled Bb Desktop Software to the same results

I have tried this with Bluetooth on and off on both the device and the Desktop Software setting.

There is a 16GB micro SD card in the phone but all memory is virtually empty (device memory and card memory)

I have taken the battery out of the phone and replaced it.
    abubadr likes this.
    01-06-13 11:46 AM
    Hi i had this happen to me, it turns out it was something with my computer. I cant explain it but it worked perfectly on another computer.

My computer only detected the device when several months later I reinstalled windows 7.

Sent from my BlackBerry 9900 using Tapatalk
    01-06-13 11:52 AM
    01-06-13 12:06 PM
    OK - i get to Step 6 "Double-click BlackBerry Device." and there is no BlackBerry Device to click.