Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. 95TsiAwd's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    Global Posts
    7 Global Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Default How does a carrier know my phone type?

    I currently use the Verizon network. So I'm just curious , how do they know what type of phone I have? See I used to have a basic phone plan with a basic phone, but now I have a BB and they are trying to charge me a premium data plan, which I do not need. Now they are charging me more money. How did Verizon know I had a BB? Is there a way to block there visibility? Because this seems very intrusive on their part.
  2. Tre Lawrence's Avatar
    Between Realities

    Posts
    11,276 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,052 Global Posts
    #2  

    Default Re: How does a carrier know my phone type?

    Quote Originally Posted by ipmaham View Post
    I currently use the Verizon network. So I'm just curious , how do they know what type of phone I have? See I used to have a basic phone plan with a basic phone, but now I have a BB and they are trying to charge me a premium data plan, which I do not need. Now they are charging me more money. How did Verizon know I had a BB? Is there a way to block there visibility? Because this seems very intrusive on their part.
    Device ID, type of data transmission, etc... there are several ways VZW can find out.

    To be fair, while one could argue the ethics of charging you for services you don't use, it is tough to disagree with the service provider wanting to know what devices it's servicing, no?
  3. howarmat's Avatar

    Posts
    23,642 Posts
    Global Posts
    24,215 Global Posts
    PIN
    24DA0A39
    #3  

    Default

    every phone has an IMEI that "registers" with the network and that tells the company what the phone is essentially.
    ~Matt
    Nexus 5, Z10 LE, White Lumia 521, 32GB Nook HD+ & 16GB PB, 32 GB Dell Venue 8 Pro
    @howarmat
  4. Hamp's Avatar
    CrackBerry Abuser

    Posts
    340 Posts
    Global Posts
    357 Global Posts
    #4  

    Default

    Beat me to it Howarmat. And to the OP, there is no way of changing an IMEI on a device.
    "To each his own"
    Check out my shadowbox at: TogetherWeServed
    and join me at the largest exclusive military network of its type. PM me for an invite! Joining is free!

Similar Threads

  1. How to change email on my phone from previous owner?
    By muddinking in forum BlackBerry Pearl 81xx
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 04:33 PM
  2. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 06-23-2009, 10:41 PM
  3. Bluetooth does NOT work on my phone!!
    By organicchem in forum BlackBerry Bold 9000
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 09:02 AM
  4. How do I NOT display my phone # when sending/receiving calls
    By flying spudman in forum BlackBerry Curve 8350i
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-27-2009, 04:37 PM
  5. How can I password protect my phone
    By livingaboard in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 07:44 AM

Posting Permissions