hey everybody, im new to blackberry and bb forums. I reading some threads and notice how ppl are getting different versions of OS, how do you upgrade your os? my current version is 7.0.0.261. Can someone explain step by step and pro and cons before i do anything. Sorry im a newbie
    12-19-11 07:16 PM
    Here is a private message I sent to a user here who asked for assistance.

----

Having bad battery life could be due to a number of issues. Stuff like signal strength, applications that are installed, settings on the phone of things like screen brightness and stuff like wifi being enabled when no wifi connections exist. Etc etc...

That said...Upgrading to the latest OS could definitely solve your problem. When I was on my original os of 7.0.0.261 I had HORRIBLE battery life, I'd be lucky to get 8 hours out of my device. Since upgrading to 7.0.0.540, battery life is no longer an issue for me.

To install the new OS, here is a quick step by step.

Note: I recommend you fully charge your blackberry device before updating the OS. When that is done, proceed with the following steps.

1: Make sure you have blackberry desktop software installed on your windows PC. If you don't have this installed, you can download it from BlackBerry - BlackBerry Desktop Software.

2: Once you have this installed, plug your blackberry into your windows PC via USB and perform a full backup of your device in Blackberry desktop software.

3: When you are satisfied that blackberry desktop software is working properly with your device, and you have completed a full backup, download the OS 7.0.0.540 to your desktop pc. It is available at this link MEGAUPLOAD - The leading online storage and file delivery service.

4: Unplug your blackberry device from your PC.

5: Double click on the file you downloaded and install it onto your desktop PC.