Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. Polski4u's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Question Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Hi, I have a Verizon Blackberry 9930. Not that long ago, I obtained a free unlock code for my phone online. I entered the unlock code into the phone and it said it was accepted. The next day, I borrowed a SIM card from my friend's phone. He has a $25/month plan from AT&T. I put the AT&T SIM card into my phone and I set it to GSM 2G. However, when I tried making calls with the phone, it did not work at all. A message would pop up saying that the radios are off and it would ask me if I wanted to turn them on, that's it. What do I need to do to get AT&T to work on this phone?
  2. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    36,551 Posts
    Global Posts
    36,581 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #2  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Go overseas.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Zee - Cue Warrior ..``..``..``..``.. Born to  ..``..``..``..``.. BBOS Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  3. Polski4u's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #3  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBadWulf View Post
    Go overseas.
    Well could you elaborate a bit more please? I'm new to this stuff and I thought that it was possible to run other phone services on a phone if you put an unlock code in the phone. Are you saying there is absolutely no way I can install an alternate service provider on this phone in the US?
  4. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    36,551 Posts
    Global Posts
    36,581 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #4  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Sorry, it's possible to get it functioning following this guide, if at&t allows your phone on it's network, but you'd be better off selling the 9930, and purchasing a used 9900 that's meant to operate on at&t, including it's 3G band.

    The "World Phone" capability was intended for use outside the US.
    Last edited by BigBadWulf; 11-04-2012 at 09:18 AM. Reason: need more espresso
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Zee - Cue Warrior ..``..``..``..``.. Born to  ..``..``..``..``.. BBOS Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  5. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #5  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Sell the 9930 and buy a 9900 instead.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
    Thanked by:
    BigBadWulf (11-04-2012) 
  6. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    36,551 Posts
    Global Posts
    36,581 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #6  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930



    What Phill said.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Zee - Cue Warrior ..``..``..``..``.. Born to  ..``..``..``..``.. BBOS Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  7. dlrogers81's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    971 Posts
    Global Posts
    995 Global Posts
    #7  

    Default Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    All of the services probably weren't working because that sim card wasn't on the BlackBerry data plan. I have used a 9930 on ATT before and it worked great in my opinion. Sure you will only get EDGE but it isn't too bad. It was comparable speed with my torch 9800 on 3G speeds.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9850 using Tapatalk
  8. Polski4u's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #8  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBadWulf View Post
    Sorry, it's possible to get it functioning following this guide, if at&t allows your phone on it's network, but you'd be better off selling the 9930, and purchasing a used 9900 that's meant to operate on at&t, including it's 3G band.

    The "World Phone" capability was intended for use outside the US.
    I haven't had the chance to read the how-to yet, but if it gets the blackberry running, would there really be any need for buying a phone specifically for AT&T? Is there any reason why AT&T would not allow my phone on their network? What is the World Phone capability anyway? I never even heard of it before. I only mentioned AT&T because they have the best coverage. I would be content with putting any other service on it as long as it's decent and is not verizon. Would that make the process simpler?

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    Sell the 9930 and buy a 9900 instead.
    Are 9900s easier to crack than 9930s?

    Quote Originally Posted by darogers View Post
    All of the services probably weren't working because that sim card wasn't on the BlackBerry data plan. I have used a 9930 on ATT before and it worked great in my opinion. Sure you will only get EDGE but it isn't too bad. It was comparable speed with my torch 9800 on 3G speeds.

    Sent from my BlackBerry 9850 using Tapatalk
    So if I were to talk a SIM card from an AT&T Blackberry bold 9930 and put it into my phone, would it work then? Or would there still be more complications?
  9. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #9  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Polski4u View Post
    Are 9900s easier to crack than 9930s?
    There is no 'cracking' involved... the 9900 is a GSM device, and AT&T is a GSM network.
    The 9930 is a CDMA device and isn't supported by AT&T.
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  10. Polski4u's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #10  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Quote Originally Posted by Phill_UK View Post
    There is no 'cracking' involved... the 9900 is a GSM device, and AT&T is a GSM network.
    The 9930 is a CDMA device and isn't supported by AT&T.
    When I was looking in the setting for my phone, there was a setting for GSM. Would that do anything or no? And what if it was another provider besides AT&T? Are there any CDMA providers who would let me use this phone on their network?
  11. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    36,551 Posts
    Global Posts
    36,581 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #11  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Yes, you need it set on GSM for it to work with at&t, or any other GSM carrier.

    No, it won't work on another CDMA carrier.

    Out of curiosity.......
    Why not use VZW?
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Zee - Cue Warrior ..``..``..``..``.. Born to  ..``..``..``..``.. BBOS Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  12. Polski4u's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    6 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #12  

    Default Re: Difficulty Running AT&T service on Verizon Blackberry 9930

    Quote Originally Posted by BigBadWulf View Post
    Yes, you need it set on GSM for it to work with at&t, or any other GSM carrier.

    No, it won't work on another CDMA carrier.

    Out of curiosity.......
    Why not use VZW?
    I did have it set to GSM when I put my friend's SIM card into the phone. I had the phone unlocked before I put his SIM card into it. Is part of the reason why it's not working because my friend's SIM is not from a smartphone? He has some basic $25/month plan on a non-smart phone. I don't want to use Verizon because AT&T has better coverage.
  13. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,707 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,723 Global Posts
    #13  

    Default

    1) You need a BlackBerry data plan
    2) You'll never get 3G/4G on AT&T
    3) You should have bought a 9900
    That's Phill with 2 L's

Similar Threads

  1. BB service on Verizon Tour & GSM carrier in India
    By mehulno1 in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-23-2010, 10:05 PM
  2. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-11-2010, 02:19 PM
  3. BB(Tour) service on Verizon & GSM carrier in India
    By mehulno1 in forum BlackBerry Tour 9630
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-20-2009, 03:21 PM
  4. Need help configuring AT&T data service on unlocked Storm
    By MarcSt in forum BlackBerry Storm
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-19-2009, 07:54 PM
  5. Bold on AT&T vs. Storm on Verizon
    By THT in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 10-21-2008, 08:57 PM

Posting Permissions