Welcome to the CrackBerry Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Results 1 to 20 of 20
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By BigBadWulf
  1. Luke2727's Avatar
    CrackBerry Newbie

    Posts
    1 Posts
    Thread AuthorThread Author   #1  

    Exclamation Bold 9900 Not Supporting Media Card

    I have been using the same memory card in my blackberry for getting on for two years, this is the second blackberry that I've used the media card in and it's been fine since getting the phone almost a month ago. All of a sudden after plugging it into the computer it say it does not support the media card that I am using. I am using a SanDisk 4GB memory card which has been compatible in my Curve 8520 which I had for 2 years and this Bold 9900 up until tonight. Anyone had the same issue and found a fix? A response would be appreciated.
    You can directly email me at luke.college96@hotmail.co.uk. Thanks.
  2. Shifty88's Avatar
    CrackBerry Master

    Posts
    1,345 Posts
    #2  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke2727 View Post
    I have been using the same memory card in my blackberry for getting on for two years, this is the second blackberry that I've used the media card in and it's been fine since getting the phone almost a month ago. All of a sudden after plugging it into the computer it say it does not support the media card that I am using. I am using a SanDisk 4GB memory card which has been compatible in my Curve 8520 which I had for 2 years and this Bold 9900 up until tonight. Anyone had the same issue and found a fix? A response would be appreciated.
    You can directly email me at luke.college96@hotmail.co.uk. Thanks.
    Did you format it? The phone only accepts FAT32 as a format, unless I'm mistaken. Just pop it back into the phone and format it from within. You'll lose any data that you don't backup so I suggest you do that before putting it back into the phone.
  3. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #3  

    Default

    You didn't say whether the SD is stilll working in the phone, or whether you were trying using an adapter, or directly from a USB connection via the phone.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  4. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #4  

    Default

    I've had exactly the same problem..can't seem to find a resolution
  5. tmdz99's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    19 Posts
    #5  

    Default

    same problem...and i cant even reformat the card either ive been using this 8gb card in my past 3 blackberries. no resolution either
  6. RubberChicken76's Avatar
    CrackBerry Genius

    Posts
    4,334 Posts
    Global Posts
    4,338 Global Posts
    #6  

    Default

    Sometimes these cards die. I had one that had been written to one too many times and it just wouldn't work anymore ... couldn't format, couldn't access. Tried it on multiple devices and the result was the same.
  7. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #7  

    Default

    Well im in the same position as the original poster but..basically my card worked for like first time i used the device, then just stopped working after a battery pull. I thought like rubebrchicken76 said it had just died..but then i put it into a pc..it worked..so decided to get a new microsd..surprise surprise this one doesn't work either..and the microsd i got came with an adaptor so thought i'd see if the old one worked..worked fine..so basically it's my device isn't 'seeing' the memory card..tried a reformat too in fat32..no luck with either card..which sucks..i even tried both memory cards on another bb and another device..both work fine just not 9900
  8. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #8  

    Default

    OS7 does have an issue, where every other boot (approximately), it will not see the SD. Another boot or just sliding the card almost to the battery and back in solves it......
    Till the next boot.
    That said, it's possible for some the card has failed. Not an uncommon problem, and doing frequent back ups is strongly recommended.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  9. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #9  

    Default

    yeah but in my situation ive tried sliding the card..i've bought a new card..used my old one..tested they both work..the only thing really left for me to try is a software downgrade or reset...this sucks!
  10. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #10  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousBruddah View Post
    yeah but in my situation ive tried sliding the card..i've bought a new card..used my old one..tested they both work..the only thing really left for me to try is a software downgrade or reset...this sucks!
    Try an upgrade/downgrade. Well worth the hour max it takes. A wipe would be totally unnecessary. It's quite possible you have a bad card reader. The phone still under warranty?
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
    Thanked by:
    AnonymousBruddah (12-17-2012) 
    AnonymousBruddah likes this.
  11. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #11  

    Default

    Thanks bigbadwolf..i'll try a downgrade do you know where i can do it (the downgrade)? I'm not too fussed about losing everything on there now..just peoples pin's im bothered about..most of my stuff is on my 2gb memory card (the original one not new one) so i copied it over onto windows anyway..but i've tried near enough everything like:
    - Slide the memory card slightly out
    - Slide memory card in and out with pin while phones on
    -Slide memory card out..reboot put back in
    - Download sd card software and format
    -normal windows format fat 32
    -
    I'm ar my wits end now..because i've bought a brand new card and same issue..so it can't be my memory cards..as for the BB, i bought it off eBay from someone who said they got it fresh off a contract so if it has warranty I have no idea..and i have no idea how to check either..
  12. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #12  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousBruddah View Post
    Thanks bigbadwolf..i'll try a downgrade do you know where i can do it (the downgrade)? I'm not too fussed about losing everything on there now..just peoples pin's im bothered about..most of my stuff is on my 2gb memory card (the original one not new one) so i copied it over onto windows anyway..but i've tried near enough everything like:
    - Slide the memory card slightly out
    - Slide memory card in and out with pin while phones on
    -Slide memory card out..reboot put back in
    - Download sd card software and format
    -normal windows format fat 32
    -
    I'm ar my wits end now..because i've bought a brand new card and same issue..so it can't be my memory cards..as for the BB, i bought it off eBay from someone who said they got it fresh off a contract so if it has warranty I have no idea..and i have no idea how to check either..
    Hard to tell you what OS to go to, when I don't know where you're at.

    Warranty won't work, but you could probably get it repaired locally for <$100.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  13. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #13  

    Default

    Wait just a dang second! What media card software?!? You should just plop the new card in the phone, and have it prompt you to format it.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  14. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #14  

    Default

    Hi bigbadwolf well basically i did put the memory card in as soon as i got it, there was no option to format and it just didn't detect it..so i formatted it in fat32 like i read on another thread..still no luck..so i tried the sim card position change..no luck..so then i saw a thread saying download some sd card software and format it using that..tried that no luck..
    well am using 7.1 bundle 2061..now thats what software it has on now
  15. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #15  

    Default

    downgraded to 7.0.0 no luck still
  16. Phill_UK's Avatar
    CrackBerry Wiseguy

    Posts
    12,709 Posts
    Global Posts
    12,725 Global Posts
    #16  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AnonymousBruddah View Post
    downgraded to 7.0.0 no luck still
    That was never really going to work.

    Sounds like a hardware fault with the memory card reader... time for an exchange/repair
    That's Phill with 2 L's
  17. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #17  

    Default

    Yeah, unfortunately in your case AB, I figured it was a hardware issue. You need the media card slot replaced.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"
  18. AnonymousBruddah's Avatar
    CrackBerry User

    Posts
    34 Posts
    #18  

    Default

    damn suppose ll have to
  19. otacon's Avatar
    CrackBerry Addict

    Posts
    855 Posts
    PIN
    28A006EA
    #19  

    Default

    Well, then you have an excuse to upgrade to BB10. Just 44 days without a media card... sure you can wait that out...
    Curve 8300 -> Curve 8320 -> Bold 9780 -> Torch 9860 -> Bold 9900 -> Z10
    iPad 1 -> iPad 2 -> Playbook 64gb
  20. BigBadWulf's Avatar

    Posts
    35,324 Posts
    Global Posts
    35,351 Global Posts
    PIN
    pin:tang
    #20  

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by otacon View Post
    Well, then you have an excuse to upgrade to BB10. Just 44 days without a media card... sure you can wait that out...
    True dat! Besides, there is 8Gb of internal storage, which also can be accessed from any PC.
    WAPers do it With A Passion

    Z/Q Warrior ..` `..` `..` `.. `.. Born to  ..` `..` `..` `..` `.. Upgrade Guide

    BB10 - If you don't, kittens will die .................................................. ......................................Kevin - "I call you the PITA I love"

Similar Threads

  1. BlackBerry Bold 9900 (T-Mobil) media card storage "other"
    By unionjackbell in forum BlackBerry Bold 9930/9900
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-08-2012, 11:05 AM
  2. Bold 9700 suddenly not finding media card.
    By illgodson in forum BlackBerry Bold 9700
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 09:47 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2008, 08:13 PM
  4. 8310 not recognizing media card!!!
    By metanosis in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2008, 08:56 PM
  5. curve not reading media card...
    By pcf225 in forum BlackBerry Curve 83xx
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-06-2008, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions